Sunday 26 May 2019


Philip Quinn

Keane wins top accolade A CAPTAIN'S courage in the line of World Cup fire was recognised at City West Hotel last night when Roy Keane received the Eircom/FAI 'Player of the Year' award for 2001.

Keane wasn't present when he last won the award in 1997, but he dashed to Dublin after playing for Manchester United against Charlton at The Valley yesterday and made the live TV presentation in the nick of time. The 30-year-old Cork legend joins Paul McGrath as the only two-time winner of this title.

In total, there were 15 awards presented and the most poignant moment of the night came when Christy McElligott was announced as the winner of the junior award. Shortly after leading Ballymun United to four major trophies last season, the FAI Junior Cup, Leinster Junior Cup, AUL Premier League and AUL Cup, Christy lost a leg in a road accident.

EIRCOM/FAI AWARDS 2001 Senior: R Keane (Man Utd). U23: D Duff (Blackburn). U21: Steven Reid (Millwall). Eircom League: G Crowe (Bohemians). Youths: J Daly (Stockport). U16: P Ennis (A Villa). U15: W Flood (Man City). Junior: C McElligott (Ballymun Utd). Intermediate: B Porter (Letterkenny Rvs). Schools: A White (St Macartan's, Monaghan). Ladies senior: O O'Toole (Shamrock Rvs). U18: M Curtin (Lifford). Hall of Fame: L Brady. Special Merit: Jim McLaughlin. International: Jack Charlton.

The Left Wing: Leinster's succession plan, Munster's missing piece and the art of contract negotiations

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport