Tuesday 24 October 2017

Dwyer points late to snatch spoils for Leo's

ST Leo's College, Carlow, were crowned 'A' champions for the second time in four seasons at Pearse Park in Longford on Saturday.

It was 13-year-old Lauren Dwyer who emerged the heroine as she kicked the winning score almost two minutes into stoppage time as Tyrone outfit, Loreto, were defeated in a dramatic decider.

Loreto were seven points down with 20 minutes remaining, but two goals in a minute from full-forward Eva Hicks dramatically turned the game on its head as the Loreto moved a point clear, 3-5 to 2-9.

The impressive Sinead Doogue hit back with a well-taken free to level the game before Dwyer had the final say.

Scorers -- St Leo's College, Carlow: S Doogue 0-5 (0-4f), E Delaney, H Griffin, S Ruth 1-0 each, A Burke, L Dwyer 0-1 each. Loreto: E Hicks 2-1, K McGarvey 0-6 (0-4f, 0- 1 '45), T McCusker 0-2.

ST LEO'S COLLEGE, CARLOW -- T Kehoe; C Callanan, R Julian, A Wall; G Miller, J Moore, A Byrne; D Callanan, A Hayden; D O'Sullivan, S Doogue, E Delaney; H Griffin, S Ruth, A Burke. Subs: S Rennick for Byrne (45), L Dwyer for Delaney (54), A Kinsella for Hayden (59).

LORETO GRAMMAR SCHOOL, OMAGH -- S Lynch; C Morris, T McLaughlin, C McGovern; C Gallagher, C McMenamin, E Tierney; G McGread, C McDonald; S Kelly, C McMahon, C McNabb; T McCusker, E Hicks, K McGarvey. Subs: C McQuaid for McNabb (h-t), N Donnelly for McMahon (56), C McCrossan for McGarvey (61).

REF -- PJ Rabbitte (Galway).

Kean clinical for Mount St Micheal

MAYO'S Mount St Michael from Claremorris captured the 'B' title for the first time with a comfortable seven-point win over St Patrick's Academy, Dungannon.

Rebecca Kean scored 0-5 for Mount St Michael and Aoife Hyland collected 1-2 as the westerners won the battle of the first-time finalists to claim an historic triumph.

Mount St Michael led by 1-10 to 0-3 at half-time.

Hyland's fourth-minute goal set the Connacht outfit on their way, but unfortunate St Pat's full-forward Aoife McGahan missed two penalties, either side of half-time.

To her credit, McGahan did kick two points from play and St Pat's were far more competitive after half-time as Nichola Rafferty and Louise Kelly scored second half goals to add some gloss to the final scoreline.

Scorers -- Mount St Michael: A Hyland 1-2, R Kean 0-5 (0-4f), L Kelly 0-3, S Tierney, D Hughes 0-2 each, A Bell 0-1. St Patrick's Academy: N Rafferty, L Kelly 1-0 each, E.J. Girvan 0-3 (0-1f), A McGahan 0-2.

MOUNT ST MICHAEL -- E Murphy; D Dolan, R Tierney, K McCormack; M Kirrane, R Kearns, A Brett; S Delaney, S Tierney; D Hughes, A Hyland, A Bell; L Kelly, E Nolan, R Kean.

ST PATRICK'S ACADEMY -- A Palmer; U McGee, A Cullen, C Grogan; E Connolly, M McGuigan (c), F Keenan; L Kilpatrick, N Rafferty; A Scullion, E.J. Girvan, L Kelly; A Carroll, A McGahan, C Mallaghan. Subs: M Barker for McGuigan (52), C McNulty for Scullion (57), C McKillion for Grogan (58).

Ref -- P Kehoe (Carlow).

O'Driscoll shows no mercy to Scoil Mhuire

A tally of 4-4 from full-forward Mairead O'Driscoll helped Mercy Heights of Skibbereen to victory in the 'C' decider at Croagh in Co Limerick on Saturday.

As the scoreline would suggest, this was a pulsating game that entertained all the way through, with plenty of fine score-taking on show.

O'Driscoll, Grainne O'Sullivan and Mihaela Davis were the main stars for the victors, though Scoil Mhuire's loss was not for the want of trying by Laura Brudell and Niamh McHugh.

The game swung from end to end, with the lead changing hands on no less than 11 occasions over the course of the 60-plus minutes.

Scorers -- Mercy Heights, Skibbereen: Mairead O'Driscoll 4-4 (2-0 p, 0-3f), G O'Sullivan 1-4, M Davis 1-2, Melissa O'Driscoll 0-1. Scoil Mhuire, Strokestown: L Brudell 2-3 (0-2f), N McHugh 0-5 (0-2f), T Kelly 1-1, B McHugh 1-0, K McLoughlin, R McDonagh 0-2 each, S Brudell 0-1.

MERCY HEIGHTS, SKIBBEREEN -- R Looney; A Kearney, E Stoutt, N O'Sullivan; K McCarthy, O McCarthy, K Coombes; G Coombes, A O'Driscoll; G McCarthy, G O'Sullivan, F O'Driscoll; M Davis, Mairead O'Driscoll, Melissa O'Driscoll. Subs: C O'Regan for Stoutt (h-t), C Ní Chonghaile for Melissa O'Driscoll (h-t), Melissa O'Driscoll for Kearney (51).

SCOIL MHUIRE, STROKESTOWN -- M Mullooly; E Beirne, C Mullolly, Y Lennon; G Dufficy, R Corcoran, C Hagan; S Brudell, M Holmes; K McLoughlin, L Brudell, R Cox; T Kelly, N McHugh, R McDonagh. Subs: B McHugh for Beirne (h-t).

REF -- S Joy (Kerry)

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport