Friday 17 November 2017

Dubs hand Jim Gavin football reins as Anthony Daly made hurling boss for next year

Jim Gavin
Jim Gavin
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Jim Gavin has been confirmed as the new Dublin football manager for a three-year term at a county board meeting, which was addressed by his predecessor Pat Gilroy.

Gavin's back-room team was not revealed, though it is expected to be along the lines of that which helped him to two All-Ireland U-21 titles in the last three years.

Anthony Daly was also ratified for a fifth year as senior hurling boss but will be without two of the selectors he had in 2012, Vincent Teehan who has been with him from the outset and John McEvoy, the former U-21 manager who was involved this year as a coach. Richie Stakelum and Ciaran Hetherton will remain on to assist Daly in 2013.

Meanwhile, David Power will be confirmed as Tipperary's new U-21 football manager this month, with former Finn Harps manager Charlie McKeever replacing him in the minor job. Power guided Tipp to All-Ireland minor football glory in 2011 and spent four successful years at the helm, masterminding back-to-back Munster successes in 2011 and 2012.

The natural progression for the Kilsheelan-Kilcash clubman is to step up to the U-21 ranks -- and that move is expected to receive the green light at a county board meeting next week.

Power (29) will be assisted by Gerry McGill, a senior selector and manager of the Dublin ladies team that won the 2010 All-Ireland title. Power and McGill will be joined by Aherlow's Pat Moroney on the management team.

New minor boss McKeever, a Donegal native, has been living in Clonmel for a number of years and has worked with local soccer club Clonmel Town as well as Clonmel Commercials GAA club. McKeever has helped to oversee the development of a number of young local players, including Evan Comerford, Seamus Kennedy, Ian Fahey and Michael Quinlivan, who were all on the Tipp team who won the 2011 All-Ireland minor title.

Power's name will be forwarded for ratification to the October meeting of the Tipperary County Board, with McKeever the recommendation to take over the minor hot seat. It is anticipated both appointments will be rubberstamped with minimum fuss.

Wexford are no nearer naming a successor to Jason Ryan as football manager. Ryan resigned his position after five years at the helm, during which time he brought the county to two provincial finals. A special committee set up by the county board has met on several occasions, but they have yet to carry out any interviews.

Possible candidates for the vacancy include Paul McLoughlin, the former Kildare player now resident in Rosslare who managed Wexford minors this year. Another name to the forefront is former Dublin player Jack Sheedy, now manager of Kildare side Moorefield, and another former Dub Paul Curran.

It's expected to be some weeks before a replacement is announced.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport