Thursday 5 December 2019

Dublin manager Pat Gilroy picks 12 All Ireland winning stars for Louth showdown

IF it ain’t broke don’t fix it. That appears to be the selection policy of Dublin manager Pat Gilroy ahead of Sunday's Leinster SFC quarter-final clash with Louth.

Today he named 12 of the 15 that started the 2011 All-Ireland Final against Kerry.

The three new faces are Philly McMahon, at corner-back, Eamon Fennell, in midfield, and Kevin McManamon, at full-forward.

Missing are Cian O'Sullivan, Denis Bastick and Barry Cahill.

The team to play Louth in the Leinster SFC quarter-finals, Sunday 3 June, Croke Park (throw-in 4.30pm):

Stephen Cluxton, Philly McMahon, Rory O'Carroll, Michael Fitzsimons, James McCarthy, Ger Brennan, Kevin Nolan, Eamon Fennell, Michael Darragh Macauley, Bryan Cullen, Alan Brogan, Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly, Kevin McManamon, Bernard Brogan.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

The Left Wing: The problem with the Champions Cup, the Stephen Larkham effect and trouble in Welsh rugby

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport