Monday 18 December 2017

Dowd fires Longford into final

Longford 0-12, Cavan 0-10

Longford earned their spot in the decider following a two-point victory over Cavan at Pearse Park.

This scrappy affair did little to capture the imagination of the small band of loyal supporters, but that will not worry Longford manager Eugene Murtagh whose side will face Kildare in the decider in two weeks' time.

Midway through the first half, the Midlanders started to carve out a lead. Four converted frees from the boot of Paddy Dowd and well-taken scores from Shane Powell, Mark Duffy and Shane Doyle put them into a four-point lead at the turnover.

Cavan came close to finding the game's first goal in the 20th minute, when Turloc Mooney and Paul O'Connor tried their best to beat Longford's 'keeper, but on both occasions Paddy Collum held his nerve.

Longford quickly extended their lead after the break as Dowd fired over a marvellous point, but this was quickly cancelled out when Conor Madden picked out Michael Argue and he coolly split the posts without too much effort.

The visitors continued to finds gaps in Longford's defence and three points from Madden cut the deficit back to two points.

But the hosts regained control and two points from second-half subs Barry McKeon and JP Reilly ensured safe passage into the final.

Scorers – Longford: S Powell 0-1, M Duffy 0-1, D Mimnagh 0-1, S Doyle 0-2, P Dowd 0-5fs, JP Reilly 0-1, B McKeon 0-1. Cavan: M Argue 0-1, C Conroy 0-1f, B Reilly 0-2, C Madden 0-3, P O'Connor 0-2, T Mooney 0-1.

Longford – P Collum; R Keogh, B O'Farrell, B Devine; S Powell, D Bennett, M Duffy; J Kane, D Gallagher; D Mimnagh, P McKeon, S Doyle; K Burke, P Dowd, M Mulvey. Subs: M Hughes for M Mulvey (24), J P Reilly for Shane Doyle (39) , B McKeon for B Devine (43), J Martin for P McKeon (49), D Quinn for M Duffy (58) .

Cavan – A O'Mara; J Morris, T Mooney, O Minagh; D Sexton, D Barkey, M Brady; Marc Leddy, M Argue; C Conroy, B Reilly, N Murray; D McVitty, C Madden, P O'Connor. Subs: P Graham for C Conroy (39), T Moore for D Sexton (58), P Faulkner for Marc Leddy (58).

Ref – S Murphy (Louth)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport