Sport Gaelic Football

Friday 19 January 2018

Division 3: McVeigh goal not enough

Antrim 2-9 FERMANAGH 1-12

IT WAS honours even after this stormy Division 3 clash between two Ulster rivals.

IT WAS honours even after this stormy Division 3 clash between two Ulster rivals.

A goal from Kevin Niblock gave Antrim a platform in the first half to withstand considerable Fermanagh pressure. But Fermanagh nibbled back and points from Sean Quigley, Paul Ward, Tommy McElroy and Marty O'Brien left them level at half-time.

On 38 minutes a high ball in from Sean Quigley was caught by Antrim 'keeper Chris Kerr, only to be punched home by Daryl Keenan. A wonderful solo effort goal from Sean McVeigh edged Antrim in front with 15 minutes to go, setting up a grandstand finish but in the end, a Ward free tied it up.

Scorers – Antrim: K Niblock 1-1, S McVeigh 1-1, T McCann (3f), R Murray (1f) 0-3 each, C Murray 0-1. Fermanagh: S Quigley (1 '45', 1f), P Ward (1f), T McElroy 0-3 each, D Keenan 1-0 M O'Brien, E Donnelly, C Quigley 0-1 each.

Antrim: C Kerr; K O'Boyle, P Doherty, N Delargy; T Scullion, J Crozier, A McClean; M McCann, S McVeigh; C Murray, K Niblock, B Herron; P Cunningham, M Pollock, T McCann. Subs: S Finch for Doherty (23), R Murray for Pollock, M Herron for Cunningham (44), C Duffin for McCann (61).

Fermanagh: C Snow; N Bogue, A McGuinness, J Woods; M O'Brien, B Cox, D McCusker; M McGrath, S Lyons; T McElroy, S McCabe, E Donnelly (capt); P Ward, D Keenan, S Quigley. Subs: C Quigley for Cox (50), T Corrigan for McGrath (59).

Referee: M McNally (Monaghan)

Division 4

Limerick 0-8
Waterford 0-6

Limerick seized control of Division 4 after grinding out the win in a low-key contest at Fraher Field. This top-of-the table clash failed to live up to expectations but Ian Ryan's accuracy tipped the scales in the winners favour.

Limerick warmed to the task quicker and the Shannonsiders dominated the middle third and translated that superiority on the scoreboard to lead 0-4 to 0-2 at half time. Gary Hurney carried the fight to Limerick after the break but, despite his best efforts, Maurice Horan's outfit kept their noses in front.

Scorers – Limerick: I Ryan 0-4 (2f), J Riordan, G Collins, E O'Connor, S Buckley 0-1 each. Waterford: G Hurney 0-5 (2f), G Nugent 0-1.

Limerick: B Scanlon; C Coady, L O'Dwyer, M O'Riordan; S Lavin, P Browne, P Ranahan; T Lee, B O'Brien; J O'Meara, E O'Connor, J Riordan; G Collins, S O'Carroll, I Ryan. Subs: D O'Connor for O'Carroll (46), I Corbett for O'Meara (52), S Buckley for Lee (54), D Treacey for O'Brien (67).

Waterford: S Enright; C Phelan, S Prendergast, M O'Gorman; T Grey, S Briggs, J Hurney; S Ahearne, T Prendergast; L Ó Lonáin, P Whyte, D Guiry; P Hurney, R Ahearne, G Nugent. Subs: G Hurney for P Whyte (20), M Scurry for Nugent (42), D Hallahan for Guiry (53), S O'Hare for T Prendergast (62).

Referee: J Hickey (Carlow).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport