| 13.3°C Dublin

Dillons hits form for Mayo

CONNACHT'S FBD league started to take shape yesterday with NUIG, Sligo and Mayo all picking up wins in the second round of matches in the competition.

John O'Mahony stuck to much the same team that lost out to NUIG in the first round of matches and he was rewarded for his loyalty as his Mayo ran out 1-12 to 1-6 winners over Sligo IT.

Alan Dillon was on top form and he contributed five points while Brian Benson finished the day with 1-2 to his name as Mayo held a 0-6 to 0-3 advantage at half time.

After a Sligo IT rally, Mayo came back and, with Mickey Mullins and Dillon finding their range, held on for the spoils.

The students of NUIG had more luck as they condemned Roscommon to their second defeat in Dangan.

The visitors had a dream start as Conor Devanney blasted home 1-1 in the opening three minutes. However, John Maughan's men couldn't build on that lead and the students bounced back with Galway star Sean Armstrong to the fore, leading 0-9 to 1-5 at the break.

The students kicked on in the second half and, with Paul Broderick showing well, had six points to spare at the final whistle.

Elsewhere, Tommy Jordan got his first win as Sligo boss at Markievicz Park but he was made to sweat in the end by a determined GMIT outfit.

For the second successive game, all six starting Sligo forwards managed to get on the scoresheet, and second-half goals from Dermot McTernan and Kenny Sweeney helped Sligo overturn a half-time deficit of 0-8 to 2-3. GMIT rallied in the last quarter to hit four unanswered points but Sligo held on for a 2-13 to 2-12 win.


Sport Newsletter

Get the best analysis and comment from our award-winning team of writers and columnists with our free newsletter.

This field is required

Sligo: K Sweeney 1-1, M Breheny, P Gallagher 0-3 each, D McTernan 1-0, P Lyons, E Cawley 0-2 each, S Davey, K Byrne 0-1 each.

GMIT: M Martin 0-6, P Conroy, M Conry 0-3 each, D Vaughan, J Hayes 1-0 each.

Mayo: A Dillon 0-5, B Benson 1-2, M Mullins 0-2, BJ Padden, D Corrigan, A O'Malley 0-1 each.

IT Sligo: E Kenny 0-3, M Gordon 1-0, J Murphy, A Costello and R O'Connor 0-1 each.

NUIG: P Broderick 0-9 (5f), D Conway 0-2 (1f), S Armstrong 0-2 (1f), B Guckian 0-1, J Connellan, G Bradshaw 0-1.

Roscommon: C Devanney 1-2 (1f), J Collins 0-2 (1f, 1 '45), S Kilbride 0-2, S O'Neill 0-1.

Most Watched