Thursday 14 December 2017

Cunningham unhappy with new rules on naming sides

Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

GALWAY hurling boss Anthony Cunningham says it is impossible to adhere to new regulations regarding the announcement of teams on the Wednesday prior to a championship game.

Last week Wexford manager Liam Dunne was lambasted for making six changes to his side from the official team named earlier that week. And Cunningham fears he could face a similar quandary this week as he has no clue about the status of a few injured players.

"The fellas making the programme usually come looking for it around Wednesday, but at this point I don't know if some lads are going to be fit or not," Cunningham said.

"This year we are determined to pick our teams based on their form in training. Whoever is playing well in training the week of the game will start.

"We don't train until Friday and it's going to be touch and go for some of them. How can I pick a team before then?"

Elsewhere, Roscommon have omitted star forward Donie Shine from their side to face Mayo in the Connacht semi-final on Sunday.


The Clann na nGael man has been dogged by a hamstring injury which saw him play less than half an hour in the league campaign and he looks set for a place on the bench.

Darren O'Malley starts between the posts for the first time after John Evans' first-choice 'keepers – Geoffrey Claffey and Mark Miley – left the panel. Conor Daly also makes his championship bow.

Two of St Brigid's All-Ireland club-winning side – Senan Kilbride and Karol Mannion – are included in the starting team but their clubmates Darragh Donnelly and Ian Kilbride have been ruled out.

Mayo are not expected to make too many changes to the side that saw off Galway so convincingly, with either Andy Moran or Richie Feeney drafted in to replace the injured Cillian O'Connor. Michael Conroy and Cathal Freeman have also been ruled out.

In Ulster, Jack Brady has been named to start for Cavan against Fermanagh in their clash on Sunday. Brady replaced his namesake Killian just before throw-in in the Armagh game and is named at centre-forward for the Brewster Park showdown.

Martin Dunne – who gave a man-of-the-match display in his first championship start against the Orchard County – has been posted at full-forward.

Wicklow manager Harry Murphy is expected to name the same side that saw off Longford for Saturday's Leinster SFC quarter-final clash with Meath.

Cavan (Ulster SFC v Fermanagh) – C Gilsenan; J McLoughlin, R Dunne, K Clarke; J McEnroe, A Clarke, R Flanagan; D O'Reilly, D Givney; C Mackey, J Brady, F Flanagan; N McDermott, M Dunne, E Keating.

Roscommon (Connacht SFC V Mayo) – D O'Malley; N Collins, N Carty, S McDermott; D Keenan, N Daly, C Daly; K Higgins, M Finneran; C Devaney, K Mannion, C Cregg; D Smith, S Kilbride, D O'Gara.

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport