Monday 18 December 2017

Counihan shows strong hand

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

PROOF that Cork were shielding their hand when they played Mayo in the last round of the league was given when Conor Counihan announced his team for Sunday's Division 1 final.

Only five of the Rebel's starters two weeks ago -- Eoin Cotter, Aidan Walsh, Fintan Goold, Donncha O'Connor and Ciaran Sheehan -- have been retained as Cork roll out a much stronger team for the league decider, including experienced players like Michael Shields and Noel O'Leary in defence and Paul Kerrigan and Daniel Goulding up front.

Mayo named the very same team that started in their recent meeting but all of Mayo's reported injury doubts trained last night.

Waterford's footballers have, unsurprisingly, stuck with the same starting 15 that earned them a place in tomorrow's historic Division 4 final.

Limerick have only one enforced change from the last round of the league, bringing in Conor Mullane at full-back and shifting Padraig Browne to centre-back. Sligo, who meet Antrim in the Division 3 final, have made two changes. Francis Quinn comes in at left half-forward while Colm McGee goes to top of the right.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport