| 15.5°C Dublin

Cooney coy on Hawk-Eye trial verdict

CROKE Park remain non-committal about whether or not they will go ahead with goalmouth technology after their first review meeting with Hawk-Eye yesterday.

The British company trialled their technology at Croke Park for the first time in this year's Dublin v Down (football) and Dublin v Kilkenny (hurling) Allianz League games and met with GAA officials to give their feedback.

"It would be premature for me to say anything on it because the discussions are ongoing," GAA president Christy Cooney said.

"We have to decide: number one, are we going to go for the principle of it or not; number two, does Hawk-Eye meet our requirements; and number three, the costings around it.

"Hopefully we will be in a position to bring something before our Management Committee in the next month or two."

Elsewhere, Mickey Harte has kept faith with his veterans by starting Brian Dooher and Stephen O'Neill against Monaghan on Sunday.

It will be 35-year-old Dooher's first start this season, and the Tyrone boss is also starting Philip Jordan, who he recently persuaded not to retire.

Sean Cavanagh lines out in midfield, corner-forward Mark Donnelly is Tyrone's only championship debutant and Joe McMahon, despite suffering a broken jaw six weeks ago, is surprisingly among the substitutes, who also include Kevin Hughes and Owen Mulligan.

There is no starting place for Alan Kerins in the Galway hurling side to face Westmeath, despite his recent recall to the panel.

But his Clarinbridge team-mate Barry Daly does start at half-forward and Joe Gantley is at full-forward in a team without the injured Joe Canning, Ger Farragher and Iarla Tannian.

Dual star Eoin Cadogan returns to the Cork football side for their Munster SFC semi-final against Waterford, in a team which sees six changes since the Clare game.

Cadogan and Eoin Cotter take over corner-back duties from Jamie O'Sullivan and Ray Carey respectively, while in the half-back line John Miskella replaces Noel O'Leary and Paudie Kissane comes in for Denis O'Sullivan.

And Fergal Lynch and Paul Kerrigan replace Pearse O'Neill and Fintan Goold in attack.

Kildare boss Kieran McGeeney has named John Doyle at full-forward and Tomas O'Connor at midfield for their clash with Meath, but there is speculation that they will switch again before throw-in.

Kildare have two changes in personnel, with fit-again Eamonn Callaghan and James Kavanagh coming in to the attack at the expense of Padraig O'Neill and Ronan Sweeney.

Westmeath's only change from the team that beat Carlow is Derek McNicholas replacing Alan Devine in the forwards.


Irish Independent