Sport Gaelic Football

Wednesday 22 November 2017


Connacht Leinster munster ulster

Galway -- Hurling: Ger Loughnane voted out in 2008. Football: Joe Kernan resigned last month over not being allowed to appoint his own backroom team.

Roscommon -- Tommy Carr quit in mid-season 2005 amid player unrest rumblings, while John Maughan did likewise three years later after a bad run and supporter abuse.

Sligo -- Dominic Corrigan sacked in February 2006 after a poor start to the NFL.

Mayo -- Brian McDonald resigned amid player unrest despite Mayo winning the 1992 Connacht title.


Dublin -- Mickey Whelan quit during the 1997 NFL after taking abuse from supporters; Tommy Carr was voted out by the County Board in 2001.

Meath -- Eamonn Barry hit early trouble after his appointment in 2005 when the Board failed to ratify his backroom team. He lasted one year in charge. Eamonn O'Brien voted out this week, despite Meath's Leinster title success.

Offaly -- Football: Paul O'Kelly was voted out after just one season in charge in 2003; Gerry Fahy resigned a year later, citing a lack of support from the Board; Richie Connor resigned in February 2009 (a month into his first term) following a player revolt.

Hurling: 'Babs' Keating quit after the Leinster final. (Offaly went on to win All-Ireland under Michael Bond).

Laois -- Football: Sean Dempsey was keen to stay on for 2011, but didn't get the backing of a Board executive committee.

Hurling: Damien Fox quit in mid-championship 2008 due to player apathy.

Wexford -- Hurling: John Meyler was keen to stay on at the end of 2007, but wasn't re-appointed due to objections from a section of the squad and Board.

Westmeath -- Brendan Hackett quit after a poor run of results in this year's National League.

Carlow -- Mick Condon quit after the 2004 NFL amid player unrest.


Cork -- Market leaders with Limerick for managerial strife, featuring strikes over the appointment of Teddy Holland (football) in 2007 and the re-appointment of Gerald McCarthy (hurling) in 2008.

Waterford -- Justin McCarthy quit in mid-championship 2008 amid player unrest.

Clare -- Tony Considine voted out by the Board at the end of 2007; Mike McNamara resigned last December after player unrest.

Limerick -- A managerial black spot since Tom Ryan wasn't re-appointed after winning the 1997 NHL. Eamonn Cregan had problems early in the last decade; Dave Keane was voted out after a year; Pat Joe Whelahan resigned in February 2005; Joe McKenna quit in July 2006; many top players refused to play under Justin McCarthy this season.

Tipperary -- Hurling: Michael Doyle resigned amid player unrest, while also taking heavy personal abuse after the defeat by Kilkenny in the 2003 All-Ireland semi-final. Football: Andy Shortall resigned in mid-season due to a row over the fixing of a club hurling tie a few days before a football qualifier.

Kerry -- Calm enough, but Paidi O Se was keen to continue for a ninth season only to be told at the end of 2003 that a change would be made.


Monaghan -- Seamus McEnaney resigned last month after six years in charge, following the County Board decision to open up the position to other contenders.

Down -- Paddy O'Rourke was keen to stay on in 2006, but didn't get Board backing.

Cavan -- Liam Austin resigned after a player revolt in January 1999; Val Andrews quit in 2001 after not getting what he regarded as a sufficient mandate to continue. He was recently appointed for a second term.

Donegal -- Brian McIver presided over Donegal's first NFL title success in 2007, but resigned in 2008 amid reports that some clubs were plotting a no-confidence vote. He was replaced by John Joe Doherty after which two others contenders (Charlie Mulgrew and Declan Bonner) took the appointment process to the DRA for consideration.

Derry -- Early in the managerial strife business when sacking Eamonn Coleman in 1994, just one year after he led Derry to a first All-Ireland title. It led to a stand-off by the players for a period.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport