Friday 24 November 2017

Cluxton flies Dubs flag in Rules panel

CLUB commitments for other players mean Stephen Cluxton is the only member of Dublin's All-Ireland winning team included on the 31-man provisional panel for the upcoming Ireland-Australia International Rules series, writes Martin Breheny.

Kerry have four players (Kieran Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan, plus Australian-based Tadhg Kennelly and Tommy Walsh), while Cork trio Eoin Cadogan, Aidan Walsh and Paddy Kelly are in contention.

The final panel of 23 will be announced next Tuesday when the captain will also be named for the two-Test series which takes place on October 28 and November 4.

PRELIMINARY INTERNATIONAL RULES PANEL -- S Cluxton (Dublin), L Glynn (Wicklow), R Kelly (Kildare), E Bolton (Kildare), B Murphy (Carlow), C Begley (Laois), K Reilly (Meath), K Lacey (Donegal), N McGee (Donegal), M Murphy (Donegal), S McDonnell (Armagh), C McKeever (Armagh), D Hughes (Down), K McKernan (Down), J McMahon (Tyrone), D Hughes (Monaghan), F Hanley (Galway), D Vaughan (Mayo), E Cadogan (Cork), A Walsh (Cork), P Kelly (Cork), T O'Connor (Kildare), E Callaghan (Kildare), K Donaghy (Kerry), D O'Sullivan (Kerry), T Walsh (Kerry/St Kilda), M Quinn (Longford /Essendon), C McKaigue (Derry/Sydney Swans), Z Touhy (Laois - Carlton), T Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans), P Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport