Monday 22 January 2018

Clonbur stroll to decider

A three-goal blitz by Naomh Pádraig of Clonbur ended an 11-match unbeaten run by Ballivor in a one-sided tie at Carrick-on-Shannon.

The Connacht champions served notice of their intentions when Brian Keane finished a great move to the net after seven minutes.

A second Naomh Pádraig goal by Walter Holleran in the 14th minute reflected the dominance of Clonbur and they led 2-2 to 0-1 at the interval. Eamonn O Cuiv scored Naomh Pádraig's third goal two minutes into the second half as the Ballivor rally never materialised.

SCORERS -- Naomh Padraig: B Keane ,W Holleran, E O Cuiv 1-0 each, E Joyce 0-3 (2f), P Lambe 0-1. Ballivor: A Gannon, K Canavan, J McLaughlin 0-1 each.

NAOMH PÁDRAIG -- Páraic Walsh; L Diskin, D Kyne,S Holleran; D Wallis,T Lydon, F Kinneavy; A Kyne, E O Cuiv; L Kearney, P Lambe, W Holleran; G Kyne, B Keane, E Joyce. Subs: S O'Donnell for S Holleran, D O'Donnell for L Kearney.

BALLIVOR -- K McKeown; D Raleigh,T Fox, B McLoughlin; K Canavan, Seán Heavey, Seán Corrigan; N Kirby, B Perry; Pádraig Geoghegan, J McLaughlin, C Keegan; F McMahon, M Doran, A Gannon. Subs: R Sherrock for F McMahon, K Keoghan for A Gannon, P Kelly for J McLaughlin, T Raleigh for S Corrigan.

REF -- S McLaughlin (Donegal).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport