| 6.9°C Dublin

Charlestown on the way up again

For a club that have won Connacht's top prize -- albeit 11 years ago -- and were beaten provincial finalists in 2009, the drop to Mayo's intermediate ranks must have been difficult to swallow, but Charlestown Sarsfields have dusted themselves down and got on with things.

And they added a provincial title to their list of achievements with a fully deserved victory at Markievicz Park.

With Aidan Higgins, who captained IT Sligo to their first Sigerson Cup success in 2002, at wing-back, ex-International Rules player Tom Parsons in midfield and full-forward Anthony Mulligan in good form, Charlestown appeared to have all the aces.

But they were made to work especially hard for victory by Bunninadden, who were down to 14 players from the 21st minute when full-back Thomas Perry was sent off for a second yellow-card offence.

Nevertheless, Charlestown Sarsfields got over the winning line.

Scorers -- Charlestown Sarsfields: A Mulligan 0-3 (2f), C Maye (2f), P Ward, R Haran (1f) 0-2 each, M Caffrey, E Casey, O Conway, G O'Donnell, D Warde 0-1 each. Bunninadden: V Frizzell 0-5 (4f), K Kerins 0-2, J Rogers 0-1.

Charlestown Sarsfields -- D Sloyan; G McLoughlin, D McMeel, E McLoughlin; A Higgins, G O'Donnell, D Higgins; T Parsons, E Casey; R Haran, M Caffrey, P Ward; J Owens, A Mulligan, O Conway. Subs: C Maye for O Conway (45), D Tiernan for R Haran (54), R Haran for M Caffrey (56), D Warde for J Owens (59), S Walsh for D Higgins, (60+3).

Bunninadden -- D Flannery; L Og Gormley, T Perry, P McManus; J McLoughlin, Michael Gormley, K Brennan; N Kerins, P Doohan; S Leamy, V Frizzell, K Kerins; J Rogers, M Gormley, B Gilhooley. Subs: S Kerins for N Kerins (49), J Hodgins for J Rogers (60+2).

Ref -- P Neiland (Roscommon).

Irish Independent