Friday 15 December 2017

breen seals eanna title


Colaiste Eanna scored three second-half goals to come from behind and claim the Dublin Schools Senior 'A' Hurling title against Colaiste Eoin at O'Toole Park.

Eanna's John Breen got the scoring under way with a superb point from a narrow angle.

Seán MacCraith then pointed a second-minute penalty and Marc Ó Duibhir goaled before points from Mark Schutte helped Eoin to a 1-8 to 0-7 interval lead.

But on the restart, Naoise Maguire's effort deceived Seán Ó Gairbith and flew into the net. Colaiste Eoin edged in front again, only for Alan Flood to reply with a goal and Finnian McDonagh extended the lead.

The losers rallied, but their hopes ended when Breen struck a superb finish late on to secure the title.

SCORERS -- Col Eanna: J Breen 1-3, F McDonagh (2 SLC) 0-3, A Flood, N Maguire 1-0 each, C Moffat (2f), N Ryan, R Cleary 0-2 each, F Furey, G Corrigan 0-1 each. Col Eoin: S Mac Craith 0-8 (0-1 pen, 0-4f, 0-1 '65'), M Schutte 0-4, A Ó Murchú 0-3, M O Duibhir 1-0, S Ó Móráin 0-1.

COL EANNA -- C Dooley; A Ryan, J Desmond, C Robinson; R Basquel, C Moffat, S O'Shea; R Cleary, N Maguire; N Ryan, F Furey, C O'Shea; G Corrigan, J Breen, F McDonagh. Sub: A Flood for C O'Shea (43).

COL EOIN -- S Ó Gairbith; F MacGabhann, B Ó Murchú, J MacCionnath; J Ó Cinnéide, D Sutcliffe, E Ó Loingsigh; D Ó Gormlaigh, J MacSuibhne; A Pilkington, M Schutte, A Ó Murchú; M Ó Duibhir, S Mac Craith, S Ó Moráin. Subs: E Ó Braonáin for Pilkington (59).

REF -- D O'Donovan (Dublin).

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport