Saturday 17 November 2018

Aogan O'Fearghail elected new GAA president

AOGAN O FEARGHAIL has been elected as the new GAA president at the 2014 Congress in Croke Park.

O'Fearghail becomes the first president from Co Cavan and seventh from Ulster after getting 170 votes in the first count which saw him clear of the quota of 156 votes. Wexford’s Sheamus Howlin came second with 83 votes while Sean Walsh received 57.

The newly-elected president will take over from Liam O’Neill in 2015. 

O'Fearghail becomes the first Ulster president since 2003 and was regarded as the favourite to land the position.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport