| 7.2°C Dublin

Anger after Kerry star struck by fan

Derrytresk (Tyrone) 1-10 Dromid Pearses (Kerry) 0-7

VIOLENT scenes marred yesterday's clash between Derrytresk and Dromid Pearses as the Ulster men progressed to the All-Ireland final.

A mass brawl just before the interval, which saw a number of officials and substitutes from both sides enter the field of play at Portlaoise, left Dromid midfielder Thomas Curran concussed and unable to come out for the second half.

At that stage, the Tyrone side led by the minimum (0-4 to 0-3) but they underlined their dominance in the second half with the impressive Niall Gavin helping himself to five points in that period.

The Kerrymen finished with 13 men and there were more unsavoury scenes at the final whistle when county star Declan O'Sullivan was struck with a handbag and then by a Derrytresk supporter as he left the field. Dromid selector and county board officer Diarmuid O Se afterwards called for an investigation.

"While Derrytresk beat us comprehensively on the day, I thought that some of the scenes out there were some of the most disgraceful I have ever witnessed at a football game," he said. "I cannot understand how the GAA can allow this to happen. There was no security there today for our players.

"Declan O'Sullivan got struck by a handbag and was struck by a Derrytresk supporter as well. That was seen by a steward and the gardai have it documented but I don't think Declan will be doing anything about it.

"The GAA have video evidence available and maybe it's time to use it."

SCORERS -- Derrytresk: N Gavin 0-6 (4f), J McKee 1-1, M Rea 0-2 (1f), C O'Neill 0-1; Dromid: T Curran, Declan O'Sullivan (1f) 0-2 each, M Sheehan, C O'Connor, N O'Shea 0-1 each.

DERRYTRESK -- A Quinn; S Slater, K Campbell, C Corr; E Rea, C O'Neill, J Dillon; C Gavin, R O'Neill; M Robinson, J McKee, C O'Neill; N Gavin, K Quinn, M Rea. Subs: P Kilpatrick for Gavin (56), G Devlin for Dillon (56).

DROMID -- A Hogan; P O'Sullivan, Dominic O'Sullivan, Donal O'Sullivan; Denis Shine O'Sullivan, K O'Shea, M Sheehan; C O'Connor, T Curran; A O'Sullivan, Declan O'Sullivan, A O'Connor; E O'Leary, N O'Shea, G O'Sullivan. Subs: M O'Shea for Curran (30), C Hallisey for G O'Sullivan (36), C Farley for E O'Leary (42).

REF -- F Flynn (Leitrim)

Irish Independent