Sunday 21 October 2018

Faughs in command

LEINSTER CLUB SHC FAUGHS 0-15 NAOMH MONINNE O-7 DUBLIN champions Faughs recorded their expected win over their Louth counterparts Naomh Moninne, but had a much harder match in Dundalk yesterday afternoon than they might have expected.

Trailing just 0-11 to 0-7 with eight minutes to go, Naomh Moninne claims for a penalty were turned down and Michael McNamara blasted the 21 yard free they were awarded wide of the goal.

It was the second such free he blasted wide having missed an earlier free in the first half.

Having played against the wind the Templeogue side led at the interval (0-6 to 0-5) with Aongus O'Grady and Johnny Small their best attackers with a brace of points a piece.

The same two players combined for Faughs best goal chance of the match, a minute from the interval, but O'Grady hooked the ball wide from close range.

Naomh Moninne had an even share of possession but their shooting let them down and when McNamara missed that late free Faughs immediate response was four points, one each from Conor McCann and Johnny Williams and two from top scorer Johnny Small to seal victory.

SCORERS Faughs: J Small 0-5, A O'Grady O-4 (3f, '65), K McGrath and C Bonar 0-2 each, C McCann and J Williams 0-1 each. Naomh Moninne: M McNamara 0-4 (4f), C Connolly (f), J Murphy and G Collins 0-1 each.

FAUGHS T O'Mahoney; R Boland, L Walsh, T Dooley; C McCann, S Boland, C Bonar; D Power, C Brady; T Murnane, T Tighe, J Small; A O'Grady, K McGrath, J Williams. Subs: S Cooganfor T Tighe, P Firth for R Boland and T McGrath for D Power.

NAOMH MONINNE E McArdle; M Fanning, P Murphy, J O'Flaherty; T Murphy, J Kennedy, D Murphy; B Murphy, G Collins; J Murphy, M McNamara, G Connolly; T Ryan, J Kennedy, C Connolly. Subs: D Byrne for J Kennedy, G Brennan for T Murphy and P Mulholland for M Fanning.

REF J McGrath (Westmeath).

Moran the hero


OFFALY side Birr now await Kiltegan after the Wicklow hurling champions brushed aside the challenge of Erins Own of Bagenalstown at Aughrim yesterday.

And it was corner forward Michael Moran who scuppered the challenge of Erins Own with his three opportunist goals, two of them fired home in the first half when the Bagenalstown side had the assistance of the wind.

Kiltegan, however, did not show the same hurling form as four weeks ago when winning their third Wicklow senior title on the trot, and this allowed Erins Own to stay in touch.

But every time that the Bagenalstown men, nominated to represent Carlow in the competition, even though they were only beaten semi-finalists in their county championship, looked like mounting a serious challenge, up popped Moran to drive the vital nails in their coffin.

However, Kiltegan will need to improve on this performance if they are to hold out any hope against the former All-Ireland club champions, who have beaten the Wicklow men a number of times before in this competition.

SCORERS Kiltegan: M Moran 3-2, J Keogh 0-5, J O'Toole 0-2, N Byrne, G Bermingham, S Byrne and A Furlong 0-1 each. Erins Own: D Byrne 0-5, C Coady 1-0, G Doyle 0-3, J O Neill 0-2.

KILTEGAN N Crenin; L Byrne, T Byrne, D Hayes; L Byrne, K O'Keeffe, A Byrne; C O'Toole, N Byrne; G Bermingham, J O'Toole, J Keogh; N Bermingham, S Byrne, M Moran. Sub: A Furlong for N Bermingham.

ERINS OWN M Brophy; S O'Hara, E Drea, J Monaghan; D Dundon, F Byrne, JJ Carroll; B Mullins, M Kelly; G Doyle, J O'Neill, Declan Byrne; Declan Boxer Byrne, C Coady, P Doyle. Subs: M Drea for JJ Carroll, M Purcell for Declan Boxer Byrne, C Power for P Doyle.

REF Pat Delaney (Laois).

Gaels a force


A LATE brace of points edged Lough Lene Gaels into the semi-finals at the expense of Kildare champions Coill Dubh in this tight and close contest at Mullingar's Cusack Park yesterday.

The teams were deadlocked at 0-4 each after 20 minutes but the Westmeath side struck for decisive goals in the 26th and 30th minutes when Gary Briody and John Kennedy scored rather fortuitous goals to give Lough Lene Gaels a 2-4 to 0-5 half-time lead.

Ronan Byrne, accurate from frees and play, led the Coill Dubh second half comeback, but points from Joey Williams, Francis O'Farrell and John Kennedy kept the difference at eight points.

Coill Dubh's Tom Carew scored a great 43rd minute solo goal and Chris Byrne ghosted in behind the Lough Lene Gaels defence to crash home the equalising goal in the 45th minute, to set up an exciting finale.

Byrne then gave Coill Dubh the lead but Gaels finished with a flourish and points in the last two minutes from Brendan Williams, Joey Williams and Gary Briody, enabled them to snatch victory.

SCORERS Lough Lene Gaels: J Kennedy and G Briody 1-1 each, J Williams, B Williams 0-3 each, F O'Farrell 0-2, A Murray and S Fitzpatrick 0-1 each. Coill Dubh: R Byrne 0-7, Chris Byrne and T Carew 1-1 each, Colm Byrne 0-1.

LOUGH LENE GAELS M Briody; JJ Fitzsimons, M Murtagh, M Kennedy; B Williams, M Williams, C Williams; G Briody, P Williams; D Cunningham, F O'Farrell, J Williams; S Fitzpatrick, J Kennedy,A Murray.

COILL DUBH D Byrne; A Crosse, Colm Byrne, J O'Donnell; D Hayden, M Casey, J Dowling; J Byrne, N Casey; N O'Callaghan, T Carew, A McAndrew; Chris Byrne, D Anderson, R Byrne. Subs: S Gordan for M Casey, D Behan for D Anderson.

REF P Neary (Kilkenny)

No show in Trim

THE Leinster Club SHC reached farcical proportions in Trim yesterday when Meath champions Kilmessan were given an eleventh hour walkover by Longford Slashers, who were unable to field a team.

The Midlanders were only installed as Kilmessan's opponents on Thursday last when Wolfe Tones, the Longford county kingpins seven times in the last eight years, opted out of the fixture.

Kilmessan now play Wexford side St Martin's in the next round.


Castle kings


INSPIRED by the accuracy of wing-back Sean McLoughlin, Castlepollard pulled clear in the final quarter at Mullingar yesterday to set up a county final meeting with Lough Lene Gaels next Sunday.

The winners, who led by 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time, were rocked by a John Shaw goal for Raharney within half a minute of the resumption. However, the accurate Sean McLoughlin with four points in the last 15 minutes insured victory for his side.

SCORERS Castlepollard: S McLoughlin 0-8, R McLoughlin 0-2, L Kennedy, O Devine and A Devine 0-1 each. Raharney: J Shaw 1-2, J Greville 0-3, P Connaughton 0-1.

REF B Kelly (Mullingar)

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport