Wednesday 13 November 2019

Dublin land Leinster hurling crown

Dublin secured the Leinster Senior Hurling title with victory over Galway
Dublin secured the Leinster Senior Hurling title with victory over Galway

Dazzling Dublin bridged a 52-year gap in spectacular fashion at Croke Park, winning a first Leinster Senior Hurling title since 1961 with a 2-25 to 2-13 win over holders Galway.

Paul Ryan claimed a 2-7 haul and Conal Keaney put in a massive shift as the Dubs pulled off a massive result.

Now they are gearing up for a crack at the All-Ireland title, and their form would suggest that they can give it a real rattle.

Galway made a game of it with two second half goals, from Joe Canning and David Burke, but they never looked like getting the better of a fired-up Dublin side.

Kerry were crowned Munster football champions following their 1-16 to 0-17 win over Cork at Killarney.

Kerry dominated midfield through Anthony Maher and Johnny Buckley, and forged ahead with points from Colm Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, James O'Donoghue and Buckley.

Daniel Goulding kept Cork in touch with a handful of frees, but the Kingdom struck for a 29th minute goal, expertly finished by skipper Cooper.

They led by 1-10 to 0-6 at the interval, but Cork kicked six points on the spin to close the gap to two, with Goulding bringing his tally to seven.

But the Kingdom held on to resist the defending champions in front of a crowd of 36,370.

PA Media

The Left Wing: Champions Cup preview, the World Cup hangover and Joe Schmidt's next team

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport