Saturday 24 February 2018

Dublin are yet to match record set by Heffo's Army

With their dismissal of Westmeath in Croke Park, Jim Gavin (pictured) and his all-conquering Dublin side made it six Leinster titles in a row and an incredible 18 wins on the bounce in the province, a run stretching way back to their 2010 defeat to Meath.

However that run of games is still three short of the record Dublin set from 1974 to 1980 when they won a staggering 21 provincial games in succession.

And while the current crop have played all bar one of those 18 matches in Croke Park, Kevin Heffernan's team played 12 of those games in various county grounds around Leinster.


Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport