Thursday 19 April 2018

Dublin and Mayo dominate football All-Star nominations

Goalkeeper: Robbie Hennelly (Mayo)
Goalkeeper: Robbie Hennelly (Mayo)
Goalkeeper: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Goalkeeper: Rory Beggan (Monaghan)
Full-backs: Rory Carroll (Dublin)
Full-backs: Ger Cafferkey(Mayo)
Full-backs: Keith Higgins(Mayo)
Full-backs: Colin Walshe (Monaghan)
Full-backs: Chris Barrett
Drew Wylie: was allegedly victim of sectarian remark
Full-backs: Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)
Full-backs: Marc O'Sé (Kerry)
Half-backs: Conor Gormley Tyrone
Half-backs: Colm Boyle (Mayo)
Half-backs: Lee Keegan (Mayo)
Half-backs: Cian O'Sullivan (Dublin)
Half-backs: Donal Vaughan (Mayo)
Half-backs: Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)
Half-backs: James McCarthy (Dublin)
Half-backs: Dessie Mone (Monaghan)
Half-backs: James Loughrey (Cork)
Midfielders: Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)
Midfielders: Aidan O'Shea (Mayo)
Midfielders: Seamus O'Shea (Mayo)
Midfielders: Darren Hughes (Monaghan)
Midfielders: Paul Conroy (Galway)
Midfielders: Anthony Maher (Kerry)
Half-forwards: Sean Cavanagh
Half-forwards: Colm Cooper
Half-forwards: Paul Flynn (Dublin)
Half-forwards: Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
Half-forwards: Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry)
Half-forwards: Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
Half-forwards: Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)
Half-forwards: Lorcan Mulvey (London)
Full-forwards: Bernard Brogan (Dublin)
Full-forwards: James O'Donoghue (Kerry)
Full-forwards: Martin Dunne (Cavan)
Full-forwards: Paul Mannion (Dublin)
Full-forwards: Conor McManus (Monaghan)
Full-forwards: Cillian O'Connor (Mayo)
Full-forwards: Paddy Andrews
Full-forwards: Colm McFadden (Donegal)
Full-forwards: Michael Newman (Meath)

Almost half of the nominees for the 2013 GAA GPA Football All-Stars hail from All-Ireland finalists Mayo and Dublin.

Jim Gavin side’s successful campaign, which ended with a one-point final win over Mayo on September 22, has been rewarded with 12 nominations and is followed by the 10 recorded by Mayo.

Monaghan’s first Ulster senior title since 1988 saw them receive six nominations. Both of this year’s beaten semi-finalists, Kerry and Tyrone landed five and four nominations respectively, while Cavan were next best with three. Cork, Galway, London, Meath and Donegal received one each respectively.

All told only 12 of last year’s nominees are included on this year’s list of 45. The short list for the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year Awards were also confirmed by the selection panel.

The senior category includes Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) and Lee Keegan (Mayo) and the young player category sees Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) and Paul Mannion (Dublin) vying for the award.

The final selection will be announced live on Friday, November 8 at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park.


Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Robert Hennelly (Mayo)

Rory Beggan (Monaghan)


Full backs

Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)

Ger Cafferkey (Mayo)

Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Colin Walshe (Monaghan)

Killian Clarke (Cavan)

Chris Barrett (Mayo)

Drew Wylie (Monaghan)

Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)

Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)


Half backs

Conor Gormley (Tyrone)

Colm Boyle (Mayo)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

Donal Vaughan (Mayo)

James McCarthy (Dublin)

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Dessie Mone (Monaghan)

James Loughrey (Cork)



Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Séamus O’Shea (Mayo)

Darren Hughes (Monaghan)

Paul Conroy (Galway)

Anthony Maher (Kerry)


Half forwards

Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Cian Mackey (Cavan)

Paul Flynn (Dublin)

Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

Donnacha Walsh (Kerry)

Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)

Lorcan Mulvey (London)


Full forwards

Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

James O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Martin Dunne (Cavan)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)

Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Paddy Andrews (Dublin)

Colm McFadden (Donegal)

Michael Newman (Meath)


Player of the Year Nominees

Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)


Young Player of the Year Nominees

Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)


County by county breakdown

Dublin - 12

Mayo - 10

Monaghan - 6

Kerry - 5

Tyrone - 4

Cavan - 3

Cork - 1

Galway - 1

London - 1

Meath - 1

Donegal - 1

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport