Saturday 24 March 2018

Cork will play in Division 1B as GAA vote to stick with status quo

Cork manager Jimmy Barry Murphy
Cork manager Jimmy Barry Murphy

All-Ireland finalists Cork will play in the second tier of the National Hurling League next year after the GAA voted today to stick with the format used this year.

There were a four proposals up for discussion today at Croke Park to revamp the current format but they were rejected.

That decision means the top tier will consist of division of six teams; All-Ireland champions Clare, Tipperary, Kilkenny, Dublin, Galway and Waterford while Cork will contest Division 1B alongside Munster champions, Limerick, Laois, Offaly, Antrim and Wexford.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport