Monday 16 September 2019


Alexander Baburin

The 2019 Irish Chess Championship was a great success, with intrigue remaining until the last move on board 1 in the final round. In the end, luck was on the side of FM Conor Murphy, who defeated FM Conor O'Donnell and won the title, scoring 7.5 points in 9 rounds. IMs Sam Collins and Alex Lopez tied for second place on 6.5 points each. Starting from round 5, Conor Murphy won 5 games in a row. The following game from round 7 was of great importance as then Alex Lopez was leading with 5.5 points, a point clear of the nearest rival:

Conor Murphy - Alex Lopez

Please log in or register with for free access to this article.

Log In

1.e4 c6 2.d4 d5

3.e5 Bf5 4.Nd2 e6

5.Nb3 Nd7 6.Nf3 h6

7.a4 Ne7 8.a5 a6

9.c3 g5 10.Be2 Ng6

11.0-0 f6 (D)

Black is fighting for control of the centre. After 12.exf6 Qxf6 he would have a great position, but White was up to the task, putting Black's idea to the test:


White has found the Achilles heel in Black's position - his light-squared bishop.


This move saves the bishop, but leaves Black's position in ruins. Black had to go for 12...fxe5 13.g4 Be4 14.f3 Bxf3 15.Bxf3 e4, with good compensation for a piece.

13.Bxf4 gxf4 14.Bd3! Qe7

15.Bxf5 exf5 16.Nd3 fxe5

17.Nxf4 Rg8 18.Qh5+ Qf7

19.dxe5 Nxe5 20.Rae1 Bd6

21.Rxe5+ Bxe5 22.Re1 Qxh5

23.Rxe5+ Kf7 24.Nxh5 b6

25.Rxf5+ Ke7 26.Nd4 c5

27.Re5+ Kf8 28.Nc6 Rg6

29.Rf5+ Ke8 30.Rf6 Rg5

31.axb6 1-0

Sunday Independent

The Throw-In: Selection dilemma for Dublin and All-Ireland ladies football final preview

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport