Saturday 24 March 2018

Ballyboden hero stars for Dublin U21 side less than 48 hours after All-Ireland club win

DUBLIN 2-17 LAOIS 2-5 Newsdesk Newsdesk

Dublin advanced to the final of the Eirgrid Leinster Under 21 Football Championship after overcoming Laois by twelve points at Parnell Park this afternoon.

The hosts opened up brightly with points from Glenn O’Reilly, Martin Cahilan and Michael Deegan pushing them three points clear by the 6th minute.

After Nigel murphy had opened Laois’ account in the 13th minute, they received a further boost four minutes later when Evan O’Carroll cut inside to home defence to leave Lorcan Molloy helpless from ten yards.

However, their momentum was punctured within a minute when Chris Sallier was afforded similar latitude as he fired home from a Con O’Callaghan pass.

Leading by 1-8 to 1-4 at the break, Dublin enjoyed a numerical advantage for two minutes after the dismissal of Laois’ Brian Daly with Tom Lahiff also seeing red in the 38th minute.

A Colm Basquel goal, within a minute of his introduction, helped settle Dublin nerves with the Ballyboden St Enda’s played adding three points before the close to confirm a final spot against Kildare for the hosts.

Scorers: Dublin: C Basquel 1-3, C O’Callaghan 0-5 (2f), C Sallier 1-1, G O’Reilly 0-3, M Cahilan 0-2 each, M Deegan, L Molloy (f), S McMahon 0-1 each. Laois: E O’Carroll 1-2 (0-1f), T Shiels 1-1, N Murphy, M Keogh 0-1 each.

Dublin: L Molloy; E Smith, S McMahon, D Monaghan; M Cahilan, C O’Shea, B Howard; A Foley, K Deeley; T Lahiff, C O’Callaghan, G O’Reilly; C Sallier, M Deegan, D Spillane. Subs: C Basquel for Deegan (37), S Clayton for Deeley (45, Black Card), A Murchan for Spillane (48), P Small for Sallier (52), D McIlgorm for Foley (54), O Lynch for O’Callaghan (62).

Laois: A Cooney; L Knowles, P O’Sullivan, A Campion; E Buggie, T Collins, D O’Reilly; R Dowling, E O’Carroll; N Murphy, B Daly, D Hickey; M Keogh, E Lowry, S Moore. Subs: T Shiels for Moore (25, Black Card), A Dowling for Buggie (half-time), C Dunne for R Dowling (42), E Keane for Daly (55), D Doyle for O’Carroll (61).

Referee: Fergal Smyth (Offaly)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport