Saturday 24 February 2018

Marty is Bray's success story

Waters wins Player of the Year

DANIEL GORMAN At the Royal Hotel

BRAY WANDERERS toasted a ninth successive successful Premier Division campaign at the Royal Hotel on Friday night.

The Seagulls had their annual end of season awards ceremony and celebrated yet another campaign that saw them retain their status as a team in the League of Ireland's top flight.

The Carlisle Grounds club began the calendar year without a single player on the books at the seaside venue but Pat Devlin once again worked his magic to assemble a squad capable of competing and that squad included a certain Mr. Jason Byrne.

The season began at an unprecedented early time of Saturday, February 11, as the Seagulls dipped their toes into the Setanta Cup for the first time and it ended on Friday, October 26.

Kieran 'Marty' Waters was the success story of the season; exploding onto the scene with a brace in the first leg of the Setanta Cup and he continued to terrorise defences throughout the year and it was for those reasons that he earned the player of the year crown.

Pierce Sweeney was an even bigger success story but for different reasons as the prodigious defender was snapped up by Reading during the summer and in a very nice gesture, the Seagulls fans voted him the young player of the season despite his premature exit from the club in favour of the Madejski Stadium.

Club legend Jason Byrne scooped the top goalscorer award while rookie goalkeeper Stephen McGuinness picked up the U-19 player of the year.

McGuinness wasn't the only goalkeeper to scoop a gong on the night, with Brian Kane collecting the clubman of the year, while die-hard supporter and absolute gentleman Brendan Harmon's dedication was recognised as he was bestowed with the honour of club person of the year.

Byrne, Waters, Darren Quigley and Sean Houston were also presented with their player of the month awards on the night.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links