Monday 11 December 2017

League not fully firing

The West Winter League continued on Sunday but somehow the competition is lacking the momentum it engendered last year.

So far we have more matches cancelled than played and that was the case again on this weekend. However, John Stones and Pat Dunne are ploughing away in the hope that they will get improvements at a later stage.

If they not have enough problems already the new all county MFL has now cut in on their allotted time and some clubs, notably this week Kiltegan, are finding it difficult to field two teams on the one day.

Hollywood were never out of second gear as they took on luckless Lacken at Hollywood on Sunday.

The home side were in total control from start to finish even though they were using players that would be required again by St Kevin's Minors in the evening.

While Lacken tried hard they were simply not up to this standard. Paul Phibbs and Tim Broe battled hard. Best for Hollywood were Niall Clarke and Alan Roddy.

Hollywood: Dave Tutty, Conor Callanan, Tomas Murphy, Alan Roddy, Keith Traynor, Keith Burke, Kevin Cullen, Joe Glennon (0-1), Kevin Murphy (0-1), Paul Kelly, Dan Burke, Jamie Tutty (0-1), Niall Clarke (2-3), Philip Dunne (0-1), Tomas Kelly (0-1).

Lacken: James O'Neill, John Gallagher,Tom Maguire, Mick Byrne, Mark O'Connell, Dan Griffin, Darren Byrne, Paul Phibbs, Tom Broe, Ken Balfe, Sean Murphy, Jason Balfe, Jonjo Nolan, Tim Broe (0-2), Pat Phibbs. Referee: Jimmy Kelly, Tinahely.

A late point by Ray O'Brian earned Dunlavin a draw with a strong Kilbride team at Dunlavin on Sunday.

This was the type of match that the competition needs, never more than a kick of a ball between the sides in a game that was played in the right spirit.

Players with Senior experience like Eddie Deegan, Shane Corrigan, Alan Swaine, Harry Colborne and O'Brien should have given Dunlavin the edge.

However, this Kilbride team is playing with new purpose and spirit and could very well be a force in the championship in the year ahead.

Dunlavin: Joe Walsh, Alan Swaine, Seanie Phelan, Ray O'Brien (0-1), Harry Colborne, Louis Caplis, Conor Hammond, Eddie Deegan (0-2), Barry Miley (0-1), Mikie Phelan, Shane Corrigan (0-2), Timmy Metcalfe, Ciaran Tackaberry (0-1), Dean O'Rourke, Jamie Metcalfe.

Kilbride: Noel Tisdale, Larry O'Connell, Diarmuid Haughian, Cormac Haughian, Sean Duggan, Eoin Cripps, Niall Keogh, Finn Craul, Pat Donoghue, Stephen Cashin (0-1), Austin Tisdale, Billy Balfe, Richard Ward (0-1), Andy O'Brien (0-5), Niall Donoghue.

Referee: Gerry Corbett, Shillelagh.

Wicklow People

Promoted Links

Promoted Links