Thursday 19 July 2018

Sensational Smyth

Post primary schools 'A' camogie final: Colaiste Bhride 8-6 Avondale CC 0-0

The Coláiste Bhríde Carnew Senior camogie team who defeated Avondale CC to reclaim the Liam Kavanagh Cup.
The Coláiste Bhríde Carnew Senior camogie team who defeated Avondale CC to reclaim the Liam Kavanagh Cup.

The final of the Wicklow Post Primary Senior camogie 'A' championship took place in Aughrim Community Grounds on Tuesday last.

The holders Coláiste Bhríde retained the Liam Kavanagh Cup for another year with a fine display against a battling Avondale CC.

The pitch was in good condition but frequent snow flurries made it difficult for the players.

There was a good contest in midfield with both sides winning enough possession to give a plentiful supply to their forward line.

The chief difference between the sides was in attack as the Carnew school produced fine attacking moves leading to good scores but the Avondale attack failed to convert their chances into scores.

Coláiste Bhríde scored 3-6 in the first half with Katie Smyth showing excellent skills.

Avondale worked hard in the second half but again found it difficult to register scores while Coláiste Bhríde added to their total at regular intervals.

The aforementioned Katie Smyth finished up with a fine tally of 4-3 while her colleague Aoife Kehoe bagged two goals with Orla Montague and Aoisling Shannon grabbing a goal each.

After the game, Jim Murphy presented the trophy to Coláiste Bhríde captain Rebecca Doran.

The winners had outstanding players in Emma Poole, Katie Smyth, Katherine Conroy and Aoife Kehoe while Sheenagh Byrne, Natalie Farrell, Lauren O'Reilly and Katie Toomey did well for Avondale.

Referee was Cathy Forde.

Coláiste Bhríde scorers: Katie Smyth 4-3, Aoife Kehoe 2-0, Orla Montague and Aisling Shannon 1-0 each, Sarah Byrne 0-2, Emma Poole 0-1.

Coláiste Bhríde Carnew: Rebecca Doran, Katherine Conroy, Helen Hughes, Rita Doyle, Grace O'Halloran, Laura Doran, Sarah Byrne, Aisling Shannon, Emma Poole, Orla Montague, Aoife Kehoe, Katie Smyth. Subs: Fiona Doyle, Aine Tobin, Emma Murphy, Aoife Healy, Marie Doyle, Emma Dunbar, Elizabeth O'Sullivan, Emma Tomkins, Saoirse Kenny, Aine Doyle.

Avondale CC: Ava Whelan, Thea Cullen, Natalie Farrell, Orla Byrne, Lauren O'Reilly, Alice Daly, Sheenagh Byrne, Katie Toomey, Katie O'Byrne, Aoife O'Brien, Kasey Byrne, Ciara Clancy. SUBS: Emma Byrne, Amanda Ward, Cara Robinson, Amy Nolan.

Wicklow People