Sunday 18 March 2018

Wicklow lose to top Models

Wexford met near neighbours Wicklow in the first round of the U-18 Leinster championship last Saturday afternoon in Belfield and won 5-15 to 3-8.

Wexford showed that they meant business when the had the first score after twenty seconds with an Ellen O'Brien point, and they continued to dominate for the next 10 minutes with a further goal and three points.

The goal was scored by Martha Rochford after been put through by club mate Fiona Bennett and the points coming from Niamh Butler, Ellen O'Brien and Geraldine Doolan.

Wicklow got off the mark when the impressive Niamh O'Brien scored the first of her three goals, indeed she was a thorn in the Wexford defence all game.

Wexford continued to take the game to Wicklow and further points from Doolan and O'Brien and goal from Fiona Bennett put them in the driving seat.

Wicklow responded with another goal from O'Brien and points from Amy Murphy (2) and Georgina Canavan (2). Wexford finished the half stronger though, with Bennett adding a goal and a point and Butler her second point to leave the score at the break 3-8 to 2-5.

Wicklow took the game to Wexford in the first ten minutes of the new half and got to within two points at one stage with goal and a point from Niamh O'Brien and a point from Rose Fagan when she converted a 20m free.

The Wexford side line team then made a few positional changes to settle the team down and Ellen O'Brien twice got through the Wicklow defence only to see her goal bound shots well saved by goalkeeper Megan Keogh.

Wexford took a stranglehold of the game at this stage and after Niamh Crosbie had got her third point the floodgates finally opened with goals from Mary Cummins and Fiona Bennett, while points were scored from Ellen O'Brien (3), Ciara Corrigan, Aoife Ryan and Mary Cummins and Wicklow's only response was a point in injury time from Niamh O'Brien.

Wicklow: Meghan Keogh, Marie Clarke, Sarah Jane Winders, Sarah Fennelly, Erin Horan, Ciara Stokes, Emily O'Reilly, Rose Fagan 0-1, Ciara Byrne, Chloe Farrell (Captain), Amy Murphy 0-3, Megan Doyle, Georgina Canavan 0-2, Niamh O'Brien 3-2, Katie Boucher. Subs: Sinéad O'Donovan for Clarke, Megan Kelly for Boucher, Sinéad Kelly, Lauren Thomas, Aine McDonald, Megan Davis, Aoife O'Donovan, Emma Callaghan, Chelsea Snell, Molly Cullen, Saoirse O'Reilly. Ref: J Murphy Carlow.

Wicklow People