Tuesday 20 March 2018

Wicklow hurlers outclass Ballyhale

WICKLOW Schools qualified for the South Leinster Junior hurling C championship final with a comprehensive win over Ballyhale in Carlow.

The Wicklow team had the advantage of a moderate wind in the first half and set out from the start to take full advantage of it.

With Padraig Doyle and Seanie Germaine dominating midfield the forwards received a steady supply and picked off some fine points. In the first 12 minutes they scored 12 points, nine of which were from play and led at half time by 1-20 to 0-0

The second half was more evenly contested but the result was never in doubt. Ballyhale battled bravely and found the net on three occasions but Wicklow continued to hold the advantage and availed of the opportunity to test the form of some of the substitutes.

Team : Conor McNally, Ronan Manley, Christy Moorehouse, Brendan Hawes, Jack McCall, Jack Furlong, Darragh McBride, Padraig Doyle, Seanie Germaine, Jack Fitzgerald, Mikey Boland, Kevin O'Halloran, Johnny Tobin, Tiernan Mellon, Luke Evans. SUBS Conor O'Toole, Daniel Kennedy, Ryan Heffernan, Michael Crowley, Owen Heffernan.


The final of the girls first year football championship took place in Roundwood on Thursday.

Four schools had qualified for the final which was played as a blitz. The overall standard was very high with impressive performances by Niamh Kavanagh, Ann Marie Keenan and Emma Ryan of St Marys College Arklow, Danielle Singleton, Lauren Carter and Kerri Anne Murphy of Avondale CC, Caoimhe Winder, Ellen Maguire and Ali Miley of St Kevin's CC Dunlavin, Jean Kelly, Orla Hanlon and Rachel Kenny of Scoil Chonglais Baltinglass.

Victory went to Avondale with St Mary's in second place. The trophy was presented to the winning captain Rebecca Traynor by Paul Garrigan. Referees were Cathy Forde and Michael Owens.


Colaiste Bhride Carnew are the first team into the County Wicklow senior football A semi final. In their quarter final game in Carnew they scored a comprehensive win over Scoil Chonglais Baltinglass. Top scorer for the winners was Sean Mulligan with 1-4.

Colaiste Bhride: Bob Fitzgerald, Aaron Kinsella, Enda Donoghue, Andy Hughes, Jack Kenny, Conor Lambert capt, Ger Lyons, Wayne Kinsella, Niall Hughes, Brendan Behan, Sean Mulligan, Roan Lynch, Alan Dillon, John Fleming, Keith Farrell.

Scoil Chonglais: Sean Parke, Dean Cassells, Alan Doyle, Peter Gethings, David Gethings, Seanie Germaine, Pat Burke, Gavin Owens, Paul Curran, Philip Penrose, Jack McMillan, Aaron Whelan, James Quinn, Tom Burke, Daniel Kelly

Other results

Girls football - Senior: Scoil Chonglais beat Blessington CC; Junior: Col Chraobh Abhann Kilcoole 9-4, St David's Greystones 8-6.

Boys football

Leinster Juvenile - Gorey CS 1-13, Colaiste Bhride Carnew 2-7; First year - St Kilian's Bray 5-7, Col Raithin Bray 2-0; Avondale CC beat Arklow CBS.

Camogie - Leinster Junior: Colaiste Bhride Carnew 3-5, Colaiste Eoin Hacketstown 0-1.

Wicklow People