Friday 24 November 2017

Kilmac see off Barndarrig men

BARNDARRIG'S efforts were commendable but ultimately they were not enough to halt Kilmacanogue's march to the Junior 'A' Championship final.

BARNDARRIG'S EFFORTS were commendable but ultimately they were not enough to halt Kilmacanogue's march to the Junior 'A' Championship final.

The first-half proved to be a very cagey affair with neither side giving an inch but in the second period, Conan Daye's men justified their Division 1 status as they pulled away before a late goal rained ever so slightly on their parade.

Points from Niall Meldon and Kevin Redden saw Kilmac take an early two-point lead but then Barndarrig were gifted an early opportunity when Kilmac custodian Daryl Tighe hauled down a Barndarrig forward and a penalty was awarded. Tighe was a very relieved man to see the spot kick sent wide.

Just shy of the 25-minute mark, Kilmac had made their advantage a three-point one, with Meldon and Simon Doyle raising the white flag to overshadow Barndarrig's ninth-minute opener.

But then with five minutes until the interval, Barndarrig piled together and pulled to within a single point at half-time.

The first nine minutes of the second term brought with it a rejuvenated Kilmac though and it wasn't long before they were in near-control.

Meldon grabbed another and Gavan Burke and Micheál Masterson also got in on the act as their side began sniffing a second chance at championship glory having been denied by St. Patrick's a couple of seasons ago.

Josh O'Callaghan rised the white flag for Kilmac and Barndarrig's hopes were slipping away before their very eyes but they never threw in the towel.

Ray O'Brien pulled off a fine save to deny Aaron Creavin and then up the other end midfielder Bernard Quinn put the quivers into Kilmac as he smashed home a goal with two minutes of normal time to play.

But all that goal did was prolong Barndarrig's agony as five minutes later they were wishing their opponents well for their forthcoming final.

Kilmacanogue: Daryl Tighe; Eoin Tuohy, Bob O'Donnell, Brendan O'Toole; Micheál Masterson, Gavan Burke, Simon Doyle; Stephen Morgan, Robert Conan; Craig O'Neill, Kevin Redden, Shane Vickers; Josh O'Callaghan, Niall Meldon, Aaron Creavin.

Barndarrig: Ray O'Brien; James Cullen, Keith Bradshaw, Colin Devereux; Nicholas Sinnott, Kevin Dempsey, Niall Devereux; Bernard Quinn, Hugh Doyle; Martin Cullen, Michael Murphy, Seán O'Brien; Seán Kinsella, Philip Kinsella, Greg Doyle.

Wicklow People

Promoted Links

Promoted Links