Tuesday 23 January 2018

Dominican College girls qualify for county final

DOMINICAN College Wicklow, the holders, qualified for the County Wicklow Girls Senior football A final with a 12-8 to 4-8 over St Mary's College Arklow in the semi-final in Rathnew.

The winners looked sharper than in their earlier games in this competition as they led from the start.

Two early goals from corner forward, Clodagh Fox, set them on their way. St Mary's battled bravely and matched their opponents in many areas but the Dominican girls were more efficient at converting their scoring chances. At half time the Wicklow school led by 6-2 to 2-2.

St Mary's needed a great start to the second half but it was Dominican who again struck first and again it was Clodagh Fox who found the net.

The second half was quite evenly contested but the Arklow school never looked like bridging the gap.

Dominican will now meet Scoil Chonglais in the final, a repeat of last year's pairing.

The winners had top scorers in Amy Healy, Niamh O'Brien and Clodagh Fox while Erynn O'Brien and Orfhlaith McNulty also impressed. Best for St Mary's were Annie Conroy, Chloe O'Reilly and Kirsty Hughes.

Senior hurling

Pres/Gaelcholaiste Carlow 2-9

Colaiste Chill Mhantain 1-10

This South Leinster Schools Senior hurling C1 final took place in Enniscorthy on Thursday.

The Carlow school had a narrow 0-4 to 0-3 lead at half time with all Wicklow's points coming from Ryan Devlin

The game opened up more in a fine second half. Carlow took what seemed a crucial advantage with goals in the 6th and 7th minutes by Shane O'Neill and John Murphy. At this stage they led by 2-6 to 0-3 but the Wicklow school rallied bravely.

Between the 11th and 27th minute they scored 1-6 without reply to bring the scores level. Aaron Amond pointed for Carlow but Stephen Cruise equalised with time almost up.

However, in injury time, the Carlow team added two points to snatch a narrow victory in a very even game.

Sean O Callaghan and Ronan Manley did well in defence for the Wicklow school while Paul O'Brien and Stephen Cruise worked hard in midfield. George O'Connor and Ryan Devlin impressed in attack

Scorers for Colaiste Chill Mhantain were Ryan Devlin and Stephen Cruise 0-4 each, Terry Healy 1-0, Enda Dempsey and Conor O'Brien 0-1 each.

CCM: Cormac Geraghty, Stephen Shortall, James Manley, Peter Dickenson, Dean O'Gorman, Sean O'Callaghan, Ronan Manley, Stephen Cruise, Paul O'Brien, George O'Connor, Jack Montgomery, Enda Dempsey, Ryan Devlin, Terry Healy, Conor O'Brien. SUB Reece Devlin for S Shortall.

Other Leinster results

South Leinster Junior C football final - Mountmellick CS 3-10, St Kevin's Dunlavin 2-6.

South Leinster Junior D football final - Avondale CC beat St Farnan's Prosperous by 10 points.

County championships

The Boys Senior B football final will be between Avondale CC and Arklow CBS. In the semi finals Avondale defeated Blessington CC while Arklow CBS travelled to Baltinglass to play Scoil Chonglais and had two points to spare.

Wicklow Schools

After their fine win in Dundalk Wicklow Schools will be in action in the second round of the Leinster Post Primary Schools senior football A championship on Saturday. Leinster Council have fixed the game for Baltinglass with a 2pm start.

Athlone have made their mark in the Colleges A championship in recent years and were Leinster champions in 2008.

They did not have a game in the first round this year so they are a somewhat unknown quantity but they have trained hard and will be a big test for the Wicklow lads.

They will feature not only Westmeath players but also some promising Roscommon footballers.

If Wicklow Schools can play for the full hour like they did in the third quarter in Dundalk they have a good chance of advancing to the quarter-finals. Here's hoping they can achieve this goal.

Wicklow People

Promoted Links

Promoted Links