Thursday 23 May 2019

First South Leinster double secured by Coláiste Bhríde

Coláiste Bhríde 2-9 Callan CBS 3-3

Coláiste Bhríde captain, Sean Hughes
Coláiste Bhríde captain, Sean Hughes

Coláiste Bhríde Carnew under-14 hurlers make history by claiming South Leinster title.

Coláiste Bhríde Carnew's successful year continued on Thursday last when they defeated a strong Callan CBS, Kilkenny, in the Carlow Centre of Excellence, Fenagh.

Callan, under the stewardship of Conor Fogarty and Michael Rice, were the hungrier side in the first half.

Having said that, Coláiste Bhríde Carnew had enjoyed the majority of possession but failed to convert opportunities to make the dominance count on the scoreboard.

On the other hand, however, Callan CBS were proving much more clinical in front of goal, making the most of the chances that they got. Coláiste Bhríde had started well, with Brendan Bolger, the tireless Kilanerin midfielder, opening the scoring with a fine point from play.

Following that score, Coláiste Bhríde would go on to miss a few chances that would have given them a deserved reflection of their dominance on the scoreboard.

Somewhat against the run of play, Callan scored two quick fire goals midway through the first half, giving goalkeeper Thomas Tobin no chance, within minutes of each other, that turned the game on its head.

The young men from Carnew settled a little bit in the closing minutes of the first half with a fine pointed free from distance from full-forward Billy Molloy, and a great pulled finish from young first year, Seán Kenny, gave Carnew a huge boost before half-time with a priceless goal.

Callan held a two-point lead at half-time and a huge battle was in store for the second 30 minutes. Immediately from the restart, Callan buried a third goal following a brilliant finish from their powerful full-forward and Carnew now had it all to do, trailing by five points.

This young team showed great heart, with the half-back line of Ruairí O'Brien, Craig Grannell and Darragh Hayden getting on top, while Shane Byrne and Brendan Bolger really got motoring at midfield.

The forwards began to do the business in the second half, managing to outscore the opposition 1-7 to 0-2 in the last 25 minutes. Daniel Bolger and Jake O'Dwyer offered huge energy at wing forward and Seán Hughes really came into the game at centre forward.

Hughes' ball-winning was crucial as the full-forward line began to receive a better standard of ball into them, which they converted into scores. Dan Redmond, the standout forward on show, made the most of a breaking ball inside the 14 and finished clinically to the net. A class finish from the young Carnew man, who would go on to add a point from play just minutes later following a great run from the sideline.

Redmond, Molloy and Kenny were causing trouble and Callan committed a couple of necessary fouls that were converted by Molloy.

Callan kept plugging away and scored a free to bring the game back to a three-point game with only a few minutes left.

Carnew defended heroically, with William Kenny, Tim Ivers and Ciaran Lambert doing all they could to keep Callan out. Shane Byrne produced a fantastic shoulder at the death that prevented what looked like a certain Callan goal.

There were great scenes when the referee eventually blew the full-time whistle as Coláiste Bhríde managed to win a title that they last won in 2015.

It is the first time in the schools' history to claim under-14 and under-16 hurling titles in the same year. This shows huge promise, with 40 panel members, and although only 18 got to play on the day, the interest in the sport is continuing to grow.

'We now look forward to the Leinster under-16 final, our last Leinster game of the year, when we face the winners of Maynooth PP and Scoil Mhuire Trim,' said team mentor Kevin Morris. 'A huge thanks to transition year students Aidan Kavanagh and Patrick Kavanagh for all their time and effort with this group of players who have learnt a lot from them,' he added.

Coláiste Bhríde: Thomas Tobin (Craanford); Ciarán Lambert (Tinahely), Daniel O'Neill (Kilrush-Askamore), William Kenny (Carnew Emmets); Darragh Hayden (Tinahely), Craig Grannell (Kilanerin), Tim Ivers (Kilanerin); Brendan Bolger (Kilanerin), Shane Byrne (Carnew Emmets); Daniel Bolger (Kilanerin), Seán Hughes (Captain) (Kilanerin), Jake O'Dwyer (Carnew Emmets); Seán Kenny (Kilrush-Askamore), Billy Molloy (Carnew Emmets), Daniel Redmond (Carnew Emmets). Subs: Ruairí O'Brien (Carnew Emmets) for Daniel O'Neill, Zach Jordan (Carnew Emmets) for O'Dwyer, Hugh O'Loughlin (Castletown) for Kenny.

Panel: JJ Hartnett (Kilanerin), Adam Healy (Annacurra), Calum Paterson (Carnew Emmets), Hugh O'Loughlin (Castletown), Paudie Poole (Craanford), Ryan Austin (Carnew Emmets), Kasey Cullen (Carnew Emmets), James McDonald (Tinahely), Ben Gilligan (Carnew Emmets), Killian O'Keeffe (Carnew Emmets), Kevin Murray (Tinahely), Jack Keogh (Carnew Emmets), Dean Black (Kilrush-Askamore), Darragh Dee (Kilrush-Askamore), Jack Deegan (Carnew Emmets), Darragh Rawson (Carnew Emmets), Odhran Doyle (Tinahely), Calum Ryan (Kilrush-Askamore), Eoin Spencer (Craanford), Jack Brownrigg (Carnew Emmets), Ryan Conway (Carnew Emmets), Adam Jordan (Carnew Emmets), Brandon Rossiter (Shillelagh).

Wicklow People