Saturday 24 February 2018

Success for Rathdown Ploughing Society

Robert Webster at the Rathdown ploughing championship in Newcastle.
Robert Webster at the Rathdown ploughing championship in Newcastle.

Conor William O'Brien

RATHDOWN Ploughing Society held a ploughing match in Newcastle last Saturday, September 14.

The occasion featured 25 competitors and a range of ploughing techniques old and new, including loy ploughing, an antiquated form carried out by hand. This particular event was won by Jayne Stephens, with Eugene Stephens of Ashford finishing second.

The single furrow ploughing match was won by David Livingston with Eugene Stephens once again taking second place. Carnew native Kevin Doran took top honours in the horse ploughing contest.

The reversible class was won by Tom Donnelly, while Joseph Hughes from Carnew emerged victorious in the under 21'sw competition.

The three furrow was won by Peadar Short of Ashford, with Cecil Hughes of Coolgreaney finishing second. Billy Donnelly won the two furrow, with Kilbride native Liam Hamilton taking second place and Pat Furlong finishing third.

Mick Cullen won the two furrow vintage mounted event, with second prize going to Willy Byrne of Roundwood and third place to Arklow man Paddy Byrne. Billy Murphy emerged victorious in the Classic Diesel contest and Carnew native Christina O'Hara won the farmer S class.

Robert Mitchell from Arklow finished second in the trailer class event, which was won by Tom Cullen. All prizes were presented in The Castle Inn after the day's events.

Rathdown Ploughing Society were keen to thank local man Denis Doyle on whose lands the competition took place as well as Bridget Doyle and all the staff at The Castle Inn for the food.

Wicklow People

Promoted Links

Promoted Links