Friday 18 January 2019

Final swimming races of the season

Swimmers at the Third Open Leinster swim held earlier in the summer by Wicklow Swimming Club
Swimmers at the Third Open Leinster swim held earlier in the summer by Wicklow Swimming Club

Wicklow Harbour was a hive of activity as 190 swimmers took to the water to compete on a sunny Sunday morning for the final races of the season.

The Junior sprints were up first with 47 swimmers competing. The winners were as follows: Under 6 Boys: first Tom Doyle, second Dara Colohan, third Ted Jameson. Under 6 Girls: first Olivia Guinan, second Aoife Quinn, third Fainche Maher. Under 8 Boys: first Eoin Treanor, second Bill Guinan, third Ben Reynolds. Under 8 Girls: first Ruth Connolly, second Hannah Tracey, second Laura Bentley. Under 10 Boys: first Luca Gould, second Ryan Quinn, third Oisin Kearney. Under 10 Girls: first Kate Tracey, second Anya McKenna, third Erica Hulin. Under 12 Boys: first Deaglan O'Neill, second John Ahearne, third Colm O'Neill. Under 12 Girls: first Kate Seckington, second Cara McKenna, third Sophie Leonard.

Twenty Five juniors were back in the water, swimming the Junior Challenge for the Fry Cup; first Lauren Beacom, second Aoife Treanor. third Ryan Quinn.

Twenty five Intermediates swam for the Captains Cup in a sealed handicap. Joint first went to Kirsty Dunne and Mike Connolly. Andriy Kravchenko was third.

Twelve Youths competed in the Across the Harbour Cup sponsored by Ann Corcoran. First Darragh Cahill, second Nathan O'Connor, third Ciaran Carey.

Eighty seniors swam for the McAulay Shield, Lighthouse race. Rob Noble took first place with Ronan Hurley taking second followed by Ross Roberts in third.

Afterwards Phil Healy's very kindly provided food for the members to celebrate the end of the season. The next event the club will hold will be the St Stephen's Day dip.

Wicklow People