Friday 19 January 2018

Anthony Doyle is first to enter the Hall of Fame

Denise Lambert and Paul Collard
Denise Lambert and Paul Collard

Rathnew GAA Club held their annual dinner dance in the Grand Hotel last Friday night.

Around 150 people attended the occasion including the club committee and sponsors Sinnott Autos as well as County Board Chairman Martin Coleman, Fixtures Chairman Mick Hagan and Pat Mitchell, a member of the county committee.

The Senior team collected their winner's medals from last year's County Championship as well as receiving their 2011 Dunne Cup Medals. A special presentation was also made by JJ Jewellers of a dog tag with the club crest on it.

The Junior B team collected their Schweppes' Cup and Junior League medals before the player of the year awards were handed out. Jordan Graham won the award for Junior B Young Player of the Year, while the Player of the Year Award went to Jim Hunter.

Jamie O'Connor won Young Player of the Year at Intermediate level, with Warren Kavanagh picking up the Player of the Year accolade. Tommy Gill was awarded Player of the Year for the Senior team while his team-mate Jamie Snell won Young Player of the Year for that category.

The night also saw Anthony Doyle become the first ever inductee into the Rathnew GAA Hall of Fame in recognition of over thirty years playing both hurling and football for the club - winning his first Senior football medal in 1970 - as well as holding numerous positions on the club committee.

Wicklow People

Promoted Links

Promoted Links