| 17.2°C Dublin

Newtown cruise to Division 1 Jako Cup crown with victory over Avonmore

Avonmore battle bravely


Newtown Juniors who won the U15 Division 1 Jako Cup final last weekend.

Newtown Juniors who won the U15 Division 1 Jako Cup final last weekend.

Newtown Juniors who won the U15 Division 1 Jako Cup final last weekend.


Newtown Juniors 3

Avonmore 0

Two late goals from Brooklyn Doyle and Jake Robertson sealed the U15s Division 1 Jako Cup title for Newtown at Celtic Park on Saturday afternoon.

It was a quiet first half at the smashing Arklow venue as there weren’t many clear-cut chances for either side, the best chance of the first half came for Aidan Heffernan who was unmarked in the box but dragged his shot wide in the 15th minute.

This is Wicklow Newsletter

The local stories that matter in the Garden County, delivered directly to your inbox every week

This field is required

Avonmore started the second half with a brilliant chance to open the scoring when Aaron Fahy’s shot clipped the post in the 37th minute.

Newtown opened the scoring in the 50th minute, a ball into the box by Jake Robertson was met by the head Matthew Doyle who nodded home to put his side in front.

Newtown doubled their lead with ten minutes left to play as Brooklyn Doyle slotted past the Avonmore keeper to give his side a two-goal lead with just ten minutes left to play, and a step closer to clinching the cup!

Jake Robertsonput the icing on the cake for his side with five minutes remaining, a tidy finish from inside the penalty area meant that his side went 3-0 up with not much chance of a comeback for Avonmore.

Avonmore rallied for the last five minutes but just couldn’t create enough clear-cut chances to grab a goal back and Newtown were crowned U15s Division 1 Jako Cup champions.

Newtown: 1. Ben Synnott, 2. Aaron Roy, 3. Luke Turley, 4. Cillian Coffey, 5. Cathal O’Toole, 6. Ben Kelly, 7. Jake Robertson, 8. Dylan Dunleavy, 9. Leo Maguire, 10. Aidan Heffernan, 11. Brooklyn Doyle, 12. Matthew Doyle, 13. Scott McKenna, 14. Dayle Carthy.

Avonmore: 1. Darcy Scados, 2. Ryan Dowling, 3. Kyle Kenny, 4. Nausea Wheller, 5. Jamie Kennedy, 6. Jason Nwbo, 7. Leon Bolton, 8. Claim Wangle, 9. Oscar Dowling, 10. Matthew Heath, 11. Aaron Fahy, 12. Lewis McCall, 13. Josh Fox.

Ref: Mark Whynne