Friday 23 March 2018

Taghmon take title

Low entry but good quality table tennis

GLYNN HALL was the venue for the boys' and girls' Under-13 Community Games table-tennis finals held recently. Again we had small entries with just two teams in the girls' event while the boys' competition had four teams competing.

Victory in the girls' event went to the BannowBallymitty team, and to the Taghmon team in the boys' competition. Thanks to the local committee for having everything ready for the competition and to all who helped out in any way, especially John Reville who co-ordinated the competitions.

Under-13 girls: Here the competitors were from the Glynn-Barntown and Bannow-Ballymitty Areas. This was a closely-contested event with both sides giving of their very best.

Scores were as follows (Glynn-Barntown names first): Katie Barron defeated Niamh Millar 3-2; Lara O`Shea lost 3-0 to Kiera Reville; Romy Kinsella lost 3-0 to Niamh Millar; Katie Barron beat Becky Roche 3-0; Romy Kinsella lost 3-0 to Kiera Reville; Lara O'Shea beat Becky Roche 32.

It was down to the wire and a doubles match, with Katie Barron and Lara O'Shea taking on Kiera Reville and Niamh Millar. Lady luck shone on the Bannow-Ballymitty girls and they took that game and the county title was theirs. Well done to both sets of players.

Under-13 boys: Here we had Glynn-Barntown, Ballycanew, Taghmon and Bannow-Ballymitty in action. Glynn-Barntown took on Ballycanew in their semi-final and they got off to a great start, with Garbhan MacCormack defeating Andrew O'Brien 3-0 and his team-mate, Conor Mahoney, defeating Fergal McGuire 3-0.

Then Lochlan MacCormack defeated Andrew O'Brien 3-0 to see them well in front. Garbhan MacCormack clinched the match for the GlynnBarntown side with a 3-1 win over Seán Wafer and a place in the final.

In the other semi-final we had Taghmon and Bannow-Ballymitty. Adam Sinnott got Taghmon off to a cracking start with a 3-0 win over Pádraig Lacey, and Rian Redmond continued in that vein with a good 3-0 win over Seán McCormack to put Taghmon in the driving seat. There were wins for Adam Boylan over Pádraig Lacey (3-0) and for Adam Sinnott over Michael Harney (3-0), so the match was theirs with a place waiting for them in the final.

The final saw Taghmon take on Glynn-Barntown. First game up saw Adam Sinnott (Taghmon) record a 3-1 win over Lochlan MacCormack, while team-mate Rian Redmond defeated Garbhan MacCormack 3-0 to put Taghmon 2-0 up.

Adam Boylan then defeated Lochlan McCormack 3-2 but Adam Sinnott lost out 3-1 to Conor Mahoney. Taghmon clinched the last game when Adam Boylan defeated Garbhan MacCormack 3-0 to win the Under-13 boys' county tabletennis competition. Well done to all concerned.


Bellefield G.A.A. premises was the venue for the county chess finals. Eamonn Barrett was the co-ordinator and Wexford Community Games wishes to thank him for giving of his time yet again, and indeed to all who helped out, especially Pat Nolan and Stephen Considine, Wexford chess committee members, Jim Doyle and Stasia O'Reilly.

Two county titles were up for grabs, the Under12 and Under-16 mixed chess events, both of which went to the Castlebridge-Crossabeg Area but not without strong final rounds by their opponents.

Numbers competing were much smaller than in previous years with just three Areas in contention in the Under-12 section and just four teams in the Under-16 event.

Under-12: Here the competing Areas were Castlebridge-Crossabeg, Piercestown-Murrintown and Bree-Davidstown. Round one saw Castlebridge-Crossabeg go into the lead on three and a half points with Piercestown-Murrintown on two points and Bree-Davidstown on one and a half points.

Castlebridge-Crossabeg held a one-point lead after round two (six points) with PiercestownMurrintown close on their heels on five points and Bree-Davidstown on three points. It was all to play for in the last round and team-mates and mentors were on edge as Piercestown-Murrintown had a good, strong round, taking three points to finish on eight points.

Castlebridge-Crossabeg took two and a half points to finish on eight and a half points and thus win the Under-12 chess title. Bree-Davidstown had one and half points in round three and finished on four and a half points.

Well done to the team of Will Sydney, Sadbh Quinn, Cian Kinlough and Morgan Hayden who played so well. They were missing Ciarán Fox, Liam Molloy and Michael Cullen. This team was managed by Stasia O'Reilly.

The gallant runners-up came from the Piercestown-Murrintown Area and their members were Conor Khumalo, Bill Cullen, Adam Feery and John Hennessy, while Bree-Davidstown had Michael Humphrey, Gilly Phelan, Rebecca Twomey, Ben Harrington, Finlay Harrington and Roise Eilis Kehoe on their panel.

Under-16: Here the Castlebridge-Crossabeg, Piercestown-Murrintown, Bree-Davidstown and Kilrush-Askamore Areas were in action. Round one results saw Castlebridge-Crossabeg take the lead on four and a half points with KilrushAskamore next on three and a half points. Piercestown-Murrintown were on one and a half points and Bree-Davidstown were on a half point.

Round two results saw Castlebridge-Crossabeg and Kilrush-Askamore level on eight points each, well clear of Piercestown-Murrintown and Bree-Davidstown who were on three points and one point respectively. Castlebridge-Crossabeg and Kilrush-Askamore battled it out in the last round and again they finished level on eleven points each.

The winners were decided on countback, with Castlebridge-Crossabeg just shading it on nine points and Kilrush-Askamore having to settle for the runners-up position on eight points. Piercestown-Murrintown and Bree-Davidstown both finished on four points.

Well done to the Castlebridge-Crossabeg team of Katie-Anne Neville, Polly Maher, Eoin Larkin, Evan Kinlough, Declan Quinn, Seán Reck and Jack Fortune and their manager, Judy Neville. Gallant runners-up Kilrush-Askamore were represented by Conor Kehoe, John Kavanagh, Peter Scully, Paul Doran and Patrick Doran.

Piercestown-Murrintown had Ciara O'Connor, Ella O'Connor, Anna Hennessy and Lettie Whelan on their panel, and Bree-Daivdstown had Katie Humphrey, Peter Doyle, Sarah Phelan, Peter Kelly and John Kehoe on their panel.