Thursday 23 November 2017

Rowing crews battle it out on the River Slaney

THE SLANEY Estuary may have looked a picture, but tricky tides and an awkward wind made conditions difficult for rowers contesting the Ferrycarrig regatta.

The elephant and giraffe statues in the reeds were the landmark for spectators and customers attending the event which featured 24 races in traditional timber built salmon cots.

Rival crews of four from the Ferrycarrig, Edermine, Killurin, St. Kearns and Maudlintown clubs were on the water, along with their coxes calling the shots. A cabinet load of perpetual trophies was up for grabs, each one competed for with skill, muscle and enthusiasm across the grades from under 12 to senior.


Ladies first class: Killurin - Natasha Hamilton, Maria Walsh, Caroline Stafford, Celine Hamilton (Tom Butler).

Ladies second class: Killurin - Sinead O'Leary, Niamh Corcoran, Sheila Fowler, Bernie O'Connor (Tom Butler).

Ladies third class: Ferrycarrig - Alison Bermingham, Patsy Kennel-Webb, Bernie McDonnell, Amy Travers (Aoife Duggan).

Ladies pre-vet: Killurin - Patricia Walsh, Deirdre Delaney, Sinead O'Leary, Bernie O'Connor (Jay O'Connor).

Ladies pair: St. Kearns - Una Rowe, Nuala Carroll (Taidgh Firman).

Under-18 girls: Ferrycarrig - Siofra McGuinness, Chloe Colfer, Erin Crosbie, Kaitlin O'Grady (Sinead O'Leary).

Under-16 girls: St. Kearns - Katy Kelly, Louise Carroll, Sarah O'Donohue, Mary O'Donohue (Richie Roche).

Under-16 girls B: Ferrycarrig - Mairead O'Leary, Sarah McKenna, Emily Long, Aoife Codd (Mark Lane Joynt).

Under-14 girls: St Kearns - Tanya Murphy, Saidbh Russell, Evelyn Barry, Aoife Roche (Taidgh Firman).

Under-14 girls B: Edermine - Taylor Kinnaird, Jade Power, Gina Murphy, Lauryn Whitely (Chloe Power).

Under-12 girls: Killurin - Marie Zackerr, Elaine Fanning, Aishling Fanning, Elliott Lorfin (Sinead O'Leary).

Under-12 girls B: Ferrycarrig - Sarah Darcy, Megan Darcy, Aine O'Leary, Cora Byrne Egan (Aoife Duggan).

Men first class: St. Kearns - Peter Mullen, Micheál Roche, Taidgh Firman, Mossy Tubbers (Richie Roche).

Men second class: Edermine - Ruairi Murphy, Eamon Jones, Colm Corcoran, Carrie Power (Chloe Power).

Men third class: Edermine - Ed Daly, Noel Keeley, John Kavanagh, Stuart Duggan (Nicole Hempenstall).

Men pre-vet: St. Kearns - Richie Roche, Nicky Walsh, Brendan Lanery, Peter Mullen (Taidgh Firman).

Men pair: St. Kearns - Peter Mullen, Taidgh Firman (Richie Roche).

Under-18 boys: Ferrycarrig - Corey Mahon, Dean Benson, Jack Denby, Nigel Donohue (Aoife Duggan).

Under-16 boys: Edermine - Ruairi Murphy, Eamon Jone: Colm Corcoran, Carrie Power (Chloe Power).

Under-14 boys: Ferrycarrig - Shane Moore, Conor Heeney, Eamonn Foley, Ben Kennell-Webb (Aoife Duggan).

Under-14 boys B: Ferrycarrig - Brendan Smith, Ryan Hodge, Darragh Kent, Ian Kelly (Aoife Duggan).

Under-12 boys: Killurin - Jack Murphy, Sean Walsh, Elliott Griffin, Evan Walsh (Sinead O'Leary).

Under-12 boys: Ferrycarrig - Matthew Gordon, David Kelly, Conall McGuinness, Gareth Carroll (Lorraine Foley).

Mixed first class: St. Kearns - Una Rowe, Richie Roche, Peter Mullen, Nuala Carroll (Sinead O'Leary).

Mixed second class: Edermine - Chloe Power, Davis Gorskovs, Greg Jowinski, Nicole Hempenstall (Orla Quirke).

Mixed third class: St. Kearns - Nicky Walsh, Mark Campbell, Hazel McGee, Nicole O'Brien.

Wexford People

Promoted Links