Tuesday 23 January 2018

Ross end year on a high note

NEW ROSS travelled to Arklow to play a very young Ratoath side in the final of the Michael Dunne Cup.

New Ross were in great spirits for this final and were well up for the challenge that lay ahead.

Ross started with their tails in the air and from the very first moment were so determined to bring the cup back to Barrowside. Having been beaten in the final two years earlier, they were never going to leave this one behind.

It took a while for the first score to come and thankfully the opening try was scored by Ross scrum-half Damien Doyle and converted by out-half Martin O'Neill. Ratoath fought back and scored a try to leave the score 7-5 at the half-time mark.

The second-half started in similar vein to the first did but the New Ross pack were excellent in their strength and depth, and it took its toll on the up and coming Ratoath side.

Ross scored more tries from Eoin Bailey, Derer Furness and Mark Conway, with Martin O'Neill kicking a good penalty.

This was probably one of the best performances in a New Ross jersey by this team. The pack were brilliant with great rucking and mauls, while the line-out was the best that has been seen in years. The backs defended so well and tactically were great. This was a true team performance by the whole team that has a big panel of men.

The support from the New Ross supporters was unbelievable and a massive thank you to all who travelled up to Arklow.

The team had an age gap from 47 down to 18. From the die-hards to the young guns they managed to win the cup and collect that elusive Leinster medal.

A massive thank you to Arklow Rugby Club for their great hospitality, lovely food and for filling the cup, and also to the officials and referee.

A mention also to a member of the original panel, Richie Bolger, who got injured in a warm-up game against Waterford City.

Team: Conor Dempsey, Eamon Tench, Cha Phelan, Seamus Doyle, Darren Molloy, Mark Conway, Damien Haberlin, Kevin O'Connell, Damien Doyle, Martin O'Neill, Alan Lonergan, Brice Smith, Dean Kennedy, Martin Nolan, Eoin Bailey. Rest of panel: Sean Furlong, Derek Furness, Niall O'Callaghan, Kevin Browne, Des Cleary, Aaron Finn, Mick Flynn, Steve Roche, Tom Doyle, Richie Bolger.

Player/coach: Seamus Doyle. Manager: Mick Doyle Snr.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links