Sunday 25 March 2018

Athlone the destination for Community Games finals

THIS COMING weekend, August 17-19, a large contingent of youngsters from all over Wexford will head off to Athlone I.T. for the second session of national Community Games finals competing in gymnastics, swimming, cycling, hardcourt tennis, hockey, soccer, skittles and variety.

It will be a very busy couple of days for the children and their families and coaches and we wish them every success. These are our Olympics and let's hope the competitors get the support they deserve.

SKITTLES: The Taghmon Area will have two teams in action in the skittles competitions. The team of Clodagh Dempsey, Elsa Dunlop-Doyle, Jessie Doyle, Rachel Murray, Pádraig Hore, Luke Sinnott and Danny Winters will compete in the Under-14 event, having come through the Leinster finals with a good win over Enfield of Co. Meath on an impressive 342-236 scoreline.

The team of Declan Carroll, Daniel Furlong, Brona Murphy, Emma Shannon and Annie Stafford will compete in the Under-16 section. They too came through the Leinster final, defeating St. Conleth's (Kildare) 263-152. Two very experienced teams with quite a few county, provincial and national titles between them, we wish them well.

UNDER-15 GIRLS' SOCCER: Wexford will be represented here by a team from the Tintern Area. They had a good run in the Leinster finals, overcoming Shinrone in Offaly 5-0 in the semi-final and then accounting for Trim, Co. Meath, in the final.

The team is made up of Danielle Byrne, Caoimhe Power, Aine McGarr, Sinéad Egan, Muireann Kehoe, Anastasia Breen, Leanne Rossiter, Kerry Wall, Lauren Egan, Alex Holohan, Michelle Ryan, Ciara Ryan, Ellie Sheehan and Valerie Stafford. The team is managed by Derek Egan.

HOCKEY: The Piercestown-Murrintown Area will compete in the Under-16 hockey competition and this will be the last time we see this event in the national calendar as it is being dropped this year. So hopefully the county can come away with the national title for 2012.

The Area won the Leinster final with a 3-0 win over Kildare. On their way to Athlone are Rachel Cantwell, Lauren Carty, Amy Cardiff, Sarah Berney, Aoife O'Keeffe, Aoife Daly, Anna Coleman, Katie O'Connor, Hannah Frankis, Aislilng McAuliffe, Aoife McAuliffe, Elizabeth Doyle and Anna Corcoran. The team manager is Ellen O'Connor.

VARIETY: Not surprisingly the Bree-Davidstown Area will be in action on the stage in the variety competition. This year the group members will consist of Amy Cullen, Amy Long, Darren Long, Conor Long, Gráinne Byrne, Gina Murphy, Lucy Doyle, Fionn Rochford, Ciara McKelvie, Kate Byrne, Joe Murphy, Bill Harrington and Tadhg Harrington.

The group is produced by Michelle Hogan and Sinéad Doyle who are both former contestants in this event. It's great to see our young adults coming on board to take up the cudgels. Best of luck to the team.

CYCLING: Here we have Lauren Sinnott from Oulart and Stuart Byrne and Donnacha Kenny, both from the Craanford Area, in the girls Under-12 and boys Under-14 and Under-12 respectively. Good luck to each of them.

SWIMMING: Those who will be in action include Eanna Swords, Oulart (Under-8 freestyle), Gary Porter, Rathgarogue-Cushinstown (Under-10 freestyle), Ross O'Loughlin, Gorey (Under-10 backstroke), Conor Mahoney, Glynn-Barntown (Under-12 freestlye), Adam Mahon, Glynn-Barntown (Under-12 backstroke), Stuart Vaughan, Glynn-Barntown (Under-12 breaststroke), Darragh Sinnott, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-14 freestyle), Eoghan Mahon, Glynn-Barntown (Under-14 backstroke), William James Bolger, Ferns (Under-14 breaststroke), Niall Reck, Castlebridge-Crossabeg (Under-14 butterfly), Seán Maher, Glynn-Barntown (Under-16 freestyle), Kevin Mahoney, Glynn-Barntown (Under-16 backstroke), Bill Milne, Ferns (Under-16 butterfly).

The team of Conor Mahoney, Stuart Vaughan, Adam Mahon, Alan Mahoney and Justin Dempsey will compete in the Under-16 boys' squad event. Representing the county in the girls' events are Sophie Mahon, Glynn-Barntown (Under-8 freestyle), Danielle Colfer, Rathgarogue-Cushinstown (Under-10 freestyle), Ailbhe McCormack, Clongeen (Under-10 backstroke), Aoife Milne, Ferns (Under-12 freestyle), Sarah Byrne, BreeDavidstown (Under-12 backstroke), Muireann Fitzpatrick, Gorey (Under-12 breaststroke), Mathilda Dunn-Cronin, Ferns (Under-14 freestyle), Kate O'Keeffe, Rathgarogue-Cushinstown (Under-14 backstroke), Lydia Kehoe, Ballycanew (Under-14 breaststroke), Niamh Treacy, Bree-Davidstown (Under-16 freestyle), Lisa Bolger, Ferns (Under-16 butterfly), Aoife Milne, Aoife Bowe, Katelyn Hassey, Mathilda Dunn-Cronin (Under-13 squad from the Ferns Area).

GYMNASTICS: Here the county will have Fiona Doyle, Piercestown-Murrintown (Under-8), Dearbhla Walsh, Gorey (Under-10), Karyn Murphy, Enniscorthy (Under-12), Rebecca Crean, GlynnBarntown (Under-14), Saidbh O'Flaherty, GlynnBarntown (Under-16), Rúairí Martin, Gorey (Under8), Taylor Dench, Ballycanew (Under-10), Daniel McCarthy, Glynn-Barntown (Under-12) and Diarmuid McDonald, Glynn-Barntown (Under-14) all competing in the individual competitions.

PITCH AND PUTT: The boys' Under-16 team of Dayle Donohoe, Barry Sinnott, Robbie O'Neill and Kyle Foley will be competing.

The bus carrying the competitors to Athlone will leave the Ferrycarrig Hotel at 11 a.m. on Friday, picking up passengers close to the Riverside Park Hotel in Enniscorthy at 11.20 a.m. and then on to Athlone.

The cost is €25 and under 18 youths travelling on the bus must have their fees with them.

Team managers are asked to forward reports to as soon as possible. Your co-operation would be appreciated.