Wexford People

| 12.3°C Dublin

Hark work key for Coláiste Abbain!



Coláiste Abbain captains Philip Kearns and Shane Roche

Coláiste Abbain captains Philip Kearns and Shane Roche

Coláiste Abbain captains Philip Kearns and Shane Roche

There was an afternoon to remember for the Coláiste Abbain boys recently when they were crowned the South Leinster 2nd Year 'D' Football Champions with victory over Portlaoise College in O'Hanrahans GAA Club, Carlow.

The New Ross district school had to work incredibly hard for their victory, but they knew before the game that an immense effort would be needed, and they put it in for the whole contest, never letting up for a second.

They were magnificent in defence, everyone played their part on the day, but Josh Kehoe and Evan Sweeney were absolutely instrumental in ensuring that Portlaise managed to gain a paltry 1-3 over the course of the clash.

Coláiste Abbain were battling hard in the opening half but things just didn't quite go their way. They went in at the break training by a point, but that confidence built up over the course of the campaign was clear to see as they started the second half on the front foot.

Portlaoise defended gallantly themselves but midway through the second stanza a sensational Shane Roche goal got Coláiste Abbain on the road to victory, putting them two points up and on road to victory.

The second goal proved to be the clincher, scored when Morgan Nash Colfer scooped up a breaking ball and struck it to the net to give the Coláiste Abbain boys a five point lead they would never let slip on their way to a memorable triumph for the school.

COLÁISTE ABBAIN SQUAD: Calvin Kehoe (Taghmon-Camross), Josh Kehoe (Cloughbawn), Shane Roche (Ballyhogue, 1-1), Diarmuid Byrne (St Mary's, Maudlintown), Evan Sweeney (Glynn Barntown), Philip Kearns (Cloughbawn, 0-1), Morgan Nash Colfer (Taghmon-Camross, 1-0), Jack Whitty (Taghmon-Camross, 0-1), Jamie Cadogan (Taghmon-Camross, 0-2), Charlie Murray (Cloughbawn), Philip Wickham (Adamstown), Donny McDonald (Adamstown), Ken Fenlon (Cloughbawn), Josh Power (Adamstown), Jimmy Connors (Cloughbawn), James Murphy (Adamstown), Jake Cadogan (Adamstown), Jamie Murray (Adamstown), Ryan Sinnott (Cloughbawn), Liam Dooley (Clongeen). Mentors - David Larkin, Dean O'Connor.

REFEREE: Seamus Doyle

Gorey Guardian