Wexford People

| 2.7°C Dublin

Solid Vols advance with ease

Volunteers put in a solid all-round performance to see off home side Blackwater and advance to the All-County Football League Division 4 final on Tuesday.

The John Street boys were strong all over the field, with their hosts struggling to get over missing a few regulars who might have made a difference to the eventual outcome.

In particular Blackwater struggled in the first-half. The experienced trio of Mick Lillis, Dermot Clarke and Lar Lacey gave their all for the cause but they only had three points to show for their efforts.

Lacey, Lillis and Richard Blake were on target in the first 21 minutes for their side but by half-time Blackwater trailed by 1-9 to 0-3.

Peter Walsh notched three of the first four points for his team, with Troy Murphy picking off the other as the Páirc Charman side eased into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead after 14 minutes.

The lead had increased to four - with Donal O'Connor and Alan Donovan points - when Ciarán Hillery found the net for the game's only goal in the 20th minute.

Murphy, Keith Kearney and O'Connor all added further points as the half motored to a conclusion, with the Volunteers leading by nine at the whistle.

Maybe things would have been different in the second period had Joe Neville's penalty slipped to the inside, rather than the outside, of the post.

His club did add points through Lillis, Lacey and Ger Lynch in the second period but it wasn't enough to deny Volunteers.

Keith Kearney, Donal O'Connor (two) and Shane Bates all registered after the change-around for the victors.

Volunteers, who have a splendid played seven, won seven league record to date, will face a stiff test against Shelmaliers in the league decider this week.

Volunteers: John Cody; John Browne, Mick Murphy, Anthony Walsh; Mikey Lawlor, Alan Donovan (0-1), Stephen Burke; Keith Furlong, Keith Kearney (0-2); Peter Walsh (0-3), Ciarán Hillery (1-0), Troy Murphy (0-2, 1 free); Donal O'Connor (0-4, 2 frees), Craig Kearney, Shane Bates (0-1). Sub. - Eoin McCarthy for Hillery.

Blackwater: Robert O'Leary; Shane Wright, Diarmuid Murphy, Ian Curran; Kevin Purcell, Richard Blake (0-1), Dean Whelan; Denis Carroll, Mick Lillis (0-2); Dermot Clarke, Lar Lacey (0-2), Darren Byrne; Ger Lynch (0-1), Joe Neville, Joe Murphy. Subs. - Eanna Carroll for Purcell, Mark Donohoe for J. Murphy, Michael Byrne for Wright, John Broderick for Lynch.

Referee: Seán Whelan (St. Martin's).

Wexford People