Monday 19 March 2018

Nolan the inspiration as Horeswood surge home

HORESWOOD MIDFIELDER Sean Nolan proved the inspiration as he drove his side to a comfortable victory over Crossabeg-Ballymurn in this Slaney Under-14 hurling Division 2 final played at Wexford Park on Monday of last week.

While Horeswood had the superior balance all over the pitch, credit to Crossabeg-Ballymurn who put up a battling display. In the end a flourish of late scores gave Horeswood a somewhat flattering 13-point victory margin.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn, playing into a stiff breeze, gave their all in the opening half as they strove valiantly to contain the opposition. And they managed to achieve this, as they were just six points adrift at the break. But with their attack unable to find the range against a staunch Horeswood defence, it was the New Ross District side who finished with two goals in the closing minutes.

Both sides had some excellent passages of play, with the quality of hurling quite good given the bitterly cold conditions. It was a credit to both sides, as the result hung in the balance until that late scoring burst from the eventual winners.

Lorcan Murphy and Seán Nolan traded points inside the opening minutes, but Horeswood eventually took the lead through a Cyril Prendergast point after eleven minutes, an advantage they were never subsequently to lose.

After Seán Nolan fired over four excellent points, they got the breakthrough they had threatened when an Eamonn O'Sullivan free found the net, giving them a 1-5 to 0-2 interval lead, with the losers' second point coming from Oran Maddock.

When Maddock pointed a free inside three minutes of the re-start to reduce the deficit, one expected Crossabeg-Ballymurn to take up the challenge, but despite their best efforts they were unable to break down the opposing defence.

After 16 minutes Seán Nolan struck over an excellent point from play, and Horeswood stormed all over the opposition in the closing minutes as they added goals through David Murphy and Adam Knight to gain a comprehensive enough victory.

Horeswood: Patrick Cummins; Seán Hunt, Martin Kinsella, Dean Roberts; Dylan Whitty, Eamonn O'Sullivan (1-0 free), Evan Lyng; Cyril Prendergast (0-2), Seán Nolan (0-5, 4 frees); David Murphy (1-0), Danny Byrne, Andy Breen; Adam Knight (1-0), Emmet Kehoe, Eric Dickenson. Subs. - Michael Dempsey for Kehoe, William McMackin for Breen, John Kehoe for Lyng, Jake Dunne for Dickenson, also Darragh Kent (injured).

Crossabeg-Ballymurn: Cathal Byrne; Niall O'Connor, Robert Cullen, Michael Whelan; Lorcan Cummins, Tommy Ring, Alex Sludds; Oran Maddock (0-2, 1 free), Lorcan Murphy (0-1); Fionn Griffin, Jack Fortune, Lorcan Lacey; Robert Murphy, Tony Laffan, Luke Enstone. Subs. - Mark Byrne for Griffin, Luke Corish for Lacey, Conor Doyle for Murphy, Robert Scallan for Laffan.

Referee: Jack French (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy).

Wexford People

Most Read