Wexford People

| 4.5°C Dublin

Monageer weren't tested in big win

This was as one-sided as the final scoreline suggests as Monageer-Boolavogue cruised to the easiest of 14-point victories over a weak Marshalstown-Castledockrell side in this Top Oil Intermediate 'A' hurling championship Group B game at Ferns on Sunday.

While it took the winners a period of time to back up their superiority with scores, there was never any doubt regarding the end result, even though they had just five points to spare at the interval.

A Pádraig Flynn goal midway through the half proving the decisive score as it helped them to a 1-7 to 0-5 lead, with three of their opponents' points coming through Eoin Bennett (two frees), along with Mitch Jordan and Colm Bennett.

When Mark Gahan and Pádraig Flynn landed early second-half points, Monageer-Boolavogue went on to assume total control as the opposition could only respond through points from Eoin Bennett, Colm Bennett and Mitch Jordan.

And when Mark Gahan banged home a 46th-minute goal, the issue was really put beyond doubt and they moved into a 2-16 to 0-9 lead with less than five minutes remaining.

The losers' cause was not helped when they lost centre-back Patrick Kinsella on two yellow card offences, while Colm Bennett was forced off late on with what appeared a serious knee injury.

Just to improve their scoring aggregate, the winners finished with goals in additional time from Bertie Gahan and Laurence Murphy, a scoring burst that just reflected the one-sided nature of the game.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Seán Murphy; Niall O'Reilly, Stephen Murphy, Chris Daly; Dean Fenlon, Patrick Breen, Mick Sweeney; Mark Walsh (0-1), Damien Fenlon; Colm O'Loughlin, Tommy Breen (0-1), Mark Gahan (1-3); Matty Dunne, Niall O'Loughlin (0-1), Pádraig Flynn (1-8, 0-5 frees). Subs. - Bertie Gahan (1-3) for T. Breen, Shane Kehoe for Damien Fenlon, James Gahan for C. O'Loughlin, Laurence Murphy (1-0) for Daly.

Marshalstown-Castledockrell: Joe Swaine; Jack Quigley, Johnny Frayne, Tomás Bennett; Joe Kelly, Patrick Kinsella, David O'Connor; John Cullen, Michael Morris; Eoin Bennett (1-6, 0-4 frees), Colm Bennett (0-2), Darragh Kehoe; Frank Kelly (0-1), Mitch Jordan (0-2), Adam Harte. Subs. - James Finn (0-1) for Cullen, Mark Brennan for Kehoe, Michael Kelly for Harte, Michael Bennett for C. Bennett, inj.

Referee: Eddie O'Sullivan (Ballyfad).

Wexford People