Tuesday 12 December 2017

Minors well-prepared for opener in Westmeath

WEXFORD HAVE named a squad of 25 players for their opening Leinster Minor football championship game with Westmeath in Mullingar on Saturday next (3.30 p.m.).

Team manager Pat O'Rourke is satisfied with the preparation put in by his side and is clearly looking forward to the game.

'The squad of 35 have put in a lot of work, played a number of games, and are clearly looking forward to this championship opener. In all the preparation has been good but playing away from home will make it more difficult. Westmeath with home advantage have been installed as the warmest of favourites but I'm confident that we will make a real game of it,' he said.

Wexford have proved a disappointment in the past in the Minor football grade. However, that should not take from the effort put in by this group of players, who are ideally prepared for the midlanders' challenge.

Wexford will want to win given the disappointment of having suffered relegation in the National League and bowing out of the Under-21 championship to Longford. Under the circumstances they will be motivated for the challenge. Given their approach to preparation and with many of the players having shone on the colleges stage, they are capable of achieving a result.

Saturday's squad is: Dylan Cloke (Starlights), Richard Cleary (St. Anne's), Dylan Redmond (Starlights), Jim Rossiter (St. Fintan's), John Reville (Bannow-Ballymitty), Naomhan Rossiter (St. Mary's, Rosslare), Graham Staples (Shelmaliers), Jamie McDonnell (Sarsfields), Jamie Carty (St. Martin's), Niall Hughes (Kilanerin), Ben Cowman (Ferns St. Aidan's), Eoin Roche (Sarsfields), Donal Shanley (St. Fintan's), Jack Bolger (Volunteers), Paudie Barden (Adamstown), Tony Smith (Shelmaliers), Cormac O'Rourke (Crossabeg-Ballymurn), Glen Malone (Shelmaliers), Tom Byrne (Kilmore), Conor Farrell (Starlights), Conor Crean (HWH-Bunclody), Donie Barron, Luke Murphy (St. James'), Brian O'Connor (Réalt na Mara), Colin Nolan (Horeswood).

Extended squad: Seán Cloherty (Starlights), Mark Nolan (Naomh Eanna), Seán Finan (St. Mary's, Rosslare), Aaron Kehoe, Luke Murphy (Glynn-Barntown), Pierce Doyle (Taghmon-Camross), Colin Cleary (Shelmaliers), Glen Murphy (Crossabeg-Ballymurn).

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links