Wexford People

| 14.2°C Dublin

Mary's in command

St. Mary's (Maudlintown) 4-11 Shamrocks 2-4

St. Mary's of Maudlintown had far too much for Shamrocks as they ran out 13-point winners in their opening Division 4B game in the Greenstar Under-20 football championship in Fr. Murphy Park on Saturday.

While their arrival in Enniscorthy on a team bus just 15 minutes before throw-in gave the perfect illustration of some of the issues which riddle Ireland's most popular sport, they quickly put that behind them and took the early lead.

Assisted by Jamie Thomas, Todd Hynes lashed into the top right corner for the game's first goal in the sixth minute.

There were a few brief stages of positivity from the Enniscorthy outfit in the first-half which kept them in touch with their superior opponents.

One of these moments was produced by defender Brandon O'Connor when he finished high to the net after Cormac Kehoe's effort came back off the crossbar, leaving them trailing by just two at the time (1-2 to 1-0).

Maudlintown picked off scores for the remainder of the half as they created a healthy six-point advantage going into the break.

Hynes was at the heart of this scoring but was also aided by Gary Cullen, Tre Long and Emmet Nolan.

Aaron Wallace closed the gap to three (1-7 to 2-1) immediately after the re-start, but the Mary's half-time lead was quickly restored and increased as Cullen chipped in with an important goal and point.

Mark Doyle and Hynes added further points to extend an advantage that Shamrocks could only reduce by three, with O'Connor, Kehoe and Jack Carroll finishing off the Enniscorthy side's tally of 2-4.

While St. Mary's had a 17-minute spell in the second-half without a score, goalkeeper Luke Rogan ensured that no comeback was possible with a string of fine saves.

They closed out the game by adding a little more gloss to the scoreline. Thomas placed low before Hynes fired into the top right as St. Mary's raised the green flag twice in the same number of minutes to finish on a high.

St. Mary's: Luke Rogan; Folk McGuire, Josh Kavanagh, T.J. Nolan; Lee Nolan, Mark Doyle (capt., 0-1), Tre Long (0-1); Jamie Thomas (1-0), Cian Whelan (0-1); Gary Cullen (1-2), Todd Hynes (2-4, 0-1 free), Emmet Nolan (0-1); Connor Morris, Patsy Whelan, Marc Thomas. Subs. - Jordan Donovan (0-1) for Thomas (39), Jack Kehoe for Morris (44).

Shamrocks: Matthew Canavan; Adam Maher, Aaron O'Toole, Dean Levingston; Seán O'Sullivan, Brandon O'Connor (1-1), Rhys Dunne; Kian Cowman, Jack Carroll (0-1); Aaron Wallace (1-0), Cormac Kehoe (0-1), Jordan O'Brien; Ben Doyle, Peter Cullen, Philly O'Brien (0-1). Subs. - Rob Clifford for O'Brien (34), O'Brien for Cullen (44), Cullen for Carroll (56).

Referee: Martin Quigley (Rathnure).

Wexford People