Wexford People

| 4.8°C Dublin

Duffry do as they please

Few teams will get it as easy as this as Duffry Rovers overcame an erratic start to comfortably see off a weak St. Patrick's outfit in this Joyces Expert Intermediate 'A' football championship Group B game in Farmleigh on Saturday.

The eventual winners may have owned possession through the opening quarter, but they failed to register a score, kicking seven wides during that period, while their opponents managed five wides at the opposite end. Placing all that in perspective, it was as poor a standard of football as will be witnessed in this year's championships.

The deadlock was eventually broken in the 16th minute when Patrick Nolan pointed the Duffry in front, while their opponents had their solitary score, a 19th-minute point from Tomás Morris.

Duffry Rovers managed to add further points through Nolan (two), Johnny Flynn-O'Connor and Eoghan Kavanagh to lead by 0-5 to 0-1 at the interval.

As their dominance became more pronounced on the resumption it turned into one-way traffic, as the opposition struggled all over the pitch.

The Pat's cause was not helped when midfielder Stephen Ryan retired injured early in the second-half, but their problems became more pronounced with the loss of full-back James Cousins with a head injury.

The problems facing many clubs were summed up as the losers didn't have another substitute to replace the injured full-back at that stage.

Duffry Rovers, already through to the quarter-final, added goals through substitute Thomas Dunne and the Flynn-O'Connors in the closing 20 minutes, but they will have learned little from this stroll.

Duffry Rovers: Bobby Larkin; Conor Jordan, Donie Doyle, Feargal Kenny; James Codd, Aidan Byrne (0-1), Robert Frayne; John McCarthy (0-1), Loughlin Rafter (0-1); Tim Bowler (0-2), Johnny Flynn-O'Connor (1-3, 0-1 free), Eoghan Kavanagh (0-1); Matthew Flynn-O'Connor (1-0), Niall Beggan, Patrick Nolan (0-3). Subs. - Thomas Dunne (1-0) for Kavanagh, Kevin Nolan for Beggan, Alan O'Neill for M. Flynn-O'Connor, Gavin Rafter for P. Nolan, James Nolan for Kenny.

St. Patrick's: Trevor Kenny; Michael Carroll, James Cousins, Daryl Murphy; Tommy Morris, Hughie Doyle, Peter Roche; Tommy Dunne, Stephen Ryan; Tynan Flynn, John Doyle, Tomás Morris (0-1 free); Seán Redmond, Ashley Tully, Dylan Kavanagh. Sub. - Lorcan Hamilton for Ryan, inj.

Referee: Noel O'Connor (Volunteers).

Wexford People