Wexford People

| 7.7°C Dublin

Cushinstown rampant as Monageer crash out

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown 5-11 Monageer-Boolavogue 0-5

The Rathgarogue-Cushinstown men head into the knockout stages of the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship high on confidence after completely dismantling bottom team Monageer-Boolavogue in a one-sided Group A encounter in Bree on Saturday.

After a tardy enough start the New Ross District side eventually got motoring, and once Matthew Cody hit the back of the net late in the first-half to help them to a 1-8 to 0-4 interval lead it was pretty much one-way traffic.

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown simply scythed through the defence in the second-half, with Tadhg Cody, Daniel Martin Carroll, Eric Cummins and Daire Bolger all getting the green flag waving as they racked up a handsome victory.

Monageer-Boolavogue actually came out of the blocks quicker, with points from Matthew Dunne, Cathal Walsh (free) and Chris Daly giving them a three-point advantage by the seventh minute.

However, once Rathgarogue-Cushinstown found their mojo they assumed control, with Brian O'Neill, Daire Bolger, Tadhg Cody and Jason Dunne all finding the range.

The stuffing was completely knocked out of their opponents in the 29th minute when the Codys combined, with Tadhg finding Matthew, and the latter rifled a shot past Niall Finn.

Six minutes after the interval they had their second goal, when Aaron Ryan shot across the face of goal and Tadhg Cody tapped in from close range.

Daniel Martin Carroll was next to get the green flag waving, when he confidently gathered Jason Dunne's ball into the danger zone and finished with aplomb.

Substitute Eric Cummins got in on the act with ten minutes remaining, arrowing a shot low and hard to the corner of the net, and Finn was again picking the ball out of the net moments later when Daire Bolger gathered a pass from Matthew Cody and applied a clinical finish.

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown: Jonny Kelly; Neil Merrigan, Bryan Cody, Patrick Murphy; Peadar Cody, Eoin Porter, Eoghain Whelan; Robert Murphy, Ollie Bolger; Daire Bolger (1-3, 0-1 free), Brian O'Neill (0-1), Tadhg Cody (1-2); Aaron Ryan (0-1), Matthew Cody (capt., 1-2), Daniel Martin Carroll (1-1). Subs. - Jason Dunne (0-1) for Merrigan, Liam O'Shea for Whelan, Eric Cummins (1-0) for Ryan, Ian Kennedy for P. Cody (black card), Mark Carroll for Porter, Ricky McGrath for O. Bolger.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Niall Finn; Ray O'Brien, Conal Nolan, Morgan Gahan; Ian Hawkins, Brian O'Loughlin, Paddy Breen; Cathal Walsh (0-2 frees), Chris Daly (0-1); Damien Fenlon, Niall O'Reilly, Mick Sweeney (capt.); Shane Kehoe, James Sweeney (0-1), Matthew Dunne (0-1). Subs. - John Breen for Nolan, John D'Arcy for O'Loughlin, Seán McCabe for Kehoe, Robbie Donnelly for M. Sweeney.

Referee: Stephen Burke (Volunteers).

Wexford People