Wexford People

| 5.5°C Dublin

Craanford edge out Duffry in tight affair


An aerial battle from Sunday's final in Farmleigh

An aerial battle from Sunday's final in Farmleigh

An aerial battle from Sunday's final in Farmleigh

Double victory occurred on Sunday for the parish of Craanford as the club's Junior 'B' camogie team and the All-County Division 6 hurlers both brought home league silverware.

The men were up against a determined Duffry Rovers side but managed to secure the title by a point. At a downcast Farmleigh pitch, each side bravely battled despite the odd period of rainfall.

The respective free-takers were busy throughout the game. Young gun Liam Pender sparkled for Duffry Rovers while Matt Nolan filled John Fleming's normal role perfectly for the winners. Nolan performed without fault with each opportunity he received.

Cian O'Toole lived up to his on-form season reputation and secured a point for the blue and white squad. Kevin Nolan replied at the opposite end by skilfully guiding the ball over Derek Finn's crossbar.

William Conroy capitalised on a high delivery from his team's back line and swiftly gained Craanford another point from play.

The powerful forward and midfielder, James Byrne, ensured Craanford had a comfortable lead at half-time after a nice burst of points from the highly influential player. As the break drew closer, Duffry Rovers found themselves trailing by three with nothing only high hopes for the second-half.

There was a plethora of goals throughout the second period, with each team claiming two apiece. The reliable free-taker, Matt Nolan, and the clever young forward, James Smyth, both found the back of the net for Craanford.

Duffry Rovers were quickly saved by their speedy full-forward, Ger Coleman, and their corner-forward, Thomas Dunne. Peter Kavanagh and Coleman exchanged points before Coleman re-appeared again with a fine point in a great attempt for a Duffry Rovers comeback.

O'Toole and Nolan continued adding to Craanford's small yet powerful lead as Gavin Watchorn made a decent attempt to minimise his men's deficit.

All fell too short for the Duffry Rovers side though as the full-time whistle blew and Craanford were the content victors by the slimmest of margins.

Craanford: Derek Finn; Patrick Lancaster, Jack Kenny, Pat Kenny; Ger Lyons, Peter Shortle, Tony Kavanagh; James Byrne (0-2), Mick Shortle (capt.); Peter Kavanagh (0-1), Des Kavanagh, Matthew Nolan (1-8, 0-8 frees); James Smyth (1-0), William Conroy (0-1), Calvin O'Toole (0-2). Subs. - Gary Keating for D. Kavanagh, James Redmond for M. Shortle, inj.

Duffry Rovers: Kaylem Fenlon; Tom O'Connor, Larry Doyle, Brian Cullen (capt.); Seamie Cullen, Ted O'Brien, James Nolan; Matty O'Connor, Loughlin Rafter; John McCarthy, Kevin Nolan (0-1), Liam Pender (0-10, 6 frees); Patrick Nolan, Ger Coleman (1-1), Thomas Dunne (1-0). Subs. - Barry O'Neill for M. O'Connor, Feargal Kenny for P. Nolan, Ciarán Pender for B. Cullen, Gavin Watchorn (0-1) for Rafter.

Referee: Noel O'Connor (St. John's).

Wexford People