Wexford People

| 5.2°C Dublin

Ballyfad bounce back

Ballyfud overturned a one-point interval deficit to scrape past St. James' and into the final of Division 3 of the All-County Hurling League in Kilanerin on Saturday.

Trailing by 0-9 to 1-5, the north county side racked up eight second-half points to see off a depleted Ramsgrange team.

Missing for St. James' were the influential trio of Graeme Molloy, Matthew O'Hanlon and Kevin O'Grady, and that's the kind of treble no team can afford to do without.

In fairness to the visitors, they almost did. Seven first-half points from top scorer Shane Murphy, and others from the two Marks, Molloy and Myler, left them ahead at the break.

At the other end points from Bobby Hughes (three) and Lorcan Clare were further enhanced by 1-1 from Peter Hughes, the goal coming after he was twice blocked only for perseverance to pay off.

Ballyfad might have gone in ahead at the break had Simon Murphy not saved well from Lorcan Clare.

However, points after the change-around from Conor Devitt (three), Mark Boland (two), Peter Hughes (two) and Bobby Hughes saw them home.

St. James' had two Andrew Walsh points and a Michael O'Grady effort on the board going into added time, but Walsh's goal came too late to save them and Ballyfad advanced.

The Gorey District side had finished top of the group table with Monageer-Boolavogue and now meet them in the league title decider in Monamolin on Saturday at 7 p.m.

Ballyfad: Darren Murphy; Enda O'Leary, Edward Hughes, Cillian O'Toole; Stephen Hughes, Colm Kavanagh, Aidan Jones; Mark Gethings, Bobby Hughes (0-4 frees); Gavin O'Toole, Richard Hughes, Mark Boland (0-2); Lorcan Clare (0-1), Peter Hughes (1-3), Conor Devitt (0-3). Subs. - Tom Hughes for R. Hughes, Denis Jones for G. O'Toole, Emmet O'Toole for Clare, Conor Byrne for Gethings, Shane O'Toole for C. O'Toole.

St. James': Simon Murphy; Brian Molloy, Jason Barron, Paul Barron; Daniel Keating, Liam Murphy, David Doyle; Robbie Barron, Mark Molloy (0-1); Shane Murphy (0-7, 5 frees, 1 '65), Mark Myler (0-1), Donal Barron; Andrew Walsh (1-2), Greg Doyle, Michael O'Grady (0-1). Subs. - John Ryan for Myler, Jason O'Grady for M. O'Grady.

Referee: Paul Browne (Clonee).

Wexford People